Three Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I added minced clove of garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp chili pwd & 1/16 tsp red pepper (avoid if you don't like heat). I also added 2 tsps of chicken base (I love Minor's. When the soup was done, I removed 3 cups and pureed with my immersion blender then returned to the soup. Excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Very quick and easy, but is lacking any SPICES! It needs some chili powder, cumin, red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
My husband and I both love this recipe, but I made quite a few changes. I didn't have chicken broth, so I added 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves to the recipe, chopped into very small pieces (pinto-bean size). I sauteed the onion & bell peppers along with 3 minced garlic cloves over medium-high heat in 2 tablespoons oil, and added the raw chicken when the veggies were tender. When the chicken was done, I added 2 1/2 cups water, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, and ONE 15-oz. can of each of the following: diced tomatoes, refried beans (as one reader suggested), navy beans (drained), pinto beans (drained), and light red kidney beans (drained). I brought the whole mixture to a boil, then turned the heat down to low, covered and simmered for 30 minutes. We wouldn't have liked it without the chicken, but now it's one of our favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I make this and my family loves it. I call it Fiesta Chili - I add more seasonings and sometimes chicken as stated in another review. You can do it hot or mild adding cummin, garlic, chili powder, jalapeno or other green, yellow or red pepper along with the bell peppers, and a handfull of frozen corn. It really looks nice and colorful and tastes like a fajita in a bowl. If you want to make it richer add a can of cream of chicken soup to the stock. You can also cut down on the sodium if you cook the dry beans instead of adding canned. You can top it with sour cream and/or shredded cheese and scoop it using corn chips as a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This soup has great flavor and it is so easy to prepare. My husband loved it. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream, grated cheddar cheese and green onions. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Yummy soup! (although I used dry beans and over cooked the kidneys and black beans, and slightly undercooked the pintos... arrrgghhh) This soup is yummy just the way it is... however, I added spices to it anyway.. (hubby is a spice hog.. ;p ) I followed others suggestions and added cumin, chili powder, cayenne, a bay leaf, garlic cloves, oregano, red pepper flakes (also, I didn't have a green bell, so I used an orange, yellow and red bell pepper... topped with cilantro and wedges of lime... and served it with cornbread.. mmmmmm Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
We increased the ingredients to serve 60 at a church meal and made it spicy! Worked wonderfully for us: simple, nutritious and satisfying. I give it only 4 stars because recipe did not call for spices (chili powder and cumin), which really made it delicious. Could easily be made vegetarian by substituting vegetable stock. Very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I tried this last night and it turned out great! I did dice up about a pound of pork and browned it with the onion & bell pepper. I also used pinto beans with jalepenos in them - YUM. Also served it with cornbread. VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
As it has been mentioned in other reviews, this recipes has no spices in it so use it as a base/ starting point to work with- be creative- use different spices to create "character" for your soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great base recipe, prob. good as is to feed picky people or children. I added my own spices (1 tablespoon of chili powder plus one teaspoon cumin), which hit the spot on this wintry evening. I also pureed the softened vegetables (with the tomatoes). Those changes made the broth sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States