Three Bean Slow Burn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out great! It's spicy, but it's not face-melting. I improvised and used ground turkey in place of ground beef, added a can of light red beans, added mild (vs. hot) salsa and used low-sodium taco seasoning. But those are the only changes I made...this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I just have to say that this chili recipe tops all chili recipes that I have tried. People ask me to make this for upcoming events, and disappointed when I don't bring it. It's easy to make with mixing all the ingredients together. I think I will make this today, in fact. Cheers! Oh, one more thing. I swapped out the 4 habaneros for 2 jalapenos and it was plenty spicy for my guests. This time, I will try one Haba and 2 Jalas and see if this is tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Love the flavor! I really like having the salsa and taco seasoning in there. It's such a large recipe I typically split it and make one set spicy, and one with much less spice. It definitely has a kick if you put every hot item in there. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJG1983
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I just made this tonight (and added a photo). This chili is AMAZING! Both my boyfriend and I like hot, spicy foods and this fit the bill. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJG1983

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This chili is fit for US Army Special Forces! I made it over the weekend and brought the rest to share with my buddies. It starts off hot and then the heat really kicks in after about a minute. The flavor was incredible! Surprisingly I was able to find all the ingredients over seas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the BEST chili I've ever tasted! Enjoyed preparing it, double the recipe (so I could freeze some), used jalapenos instead of habaneros, used half diced tomatoes with green chiles and half without, and used my dad's homemade salsa. I didn't double the amount of chili powder, red pepper, black pepper, and cumin (just because that would've been a QUARTER cup)...but everything was delicious! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was very good chili. I did change it a little. I used 2 habanero's and 4 jalepenos. I left out the red pepper flakes and salsa since I didn't have any. I also only put in three cans of beans and added a green bell pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
When it comes to chili, this is the only one my friends will ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rexrode

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I had a taste for some chili. I made this chili last night it was excellent. I started out making the soup in the crock pot but had to transfer to a large pot. This receipe as it states makes a huge portion. The only thing I did different was I used only 3 habaneros because I am fimiliar with the pepper and I did not want it to be so hot I could not eat it. I alos used a pack of chili seasoning instead of taco. After reading the reviews about the salt content I decided to only use a half a pack of chili seasoning. This receipe turned out awsome. I loved it. As some of the reviewers say it is a bit salty so be mindful of that when preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My husband made this and it was great. There is truth to the "slow burn" but we like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States