Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Very tasty, I used splenda instead of sugar, making it diabetic friendly. I also added 1 can whole kernal corn (drained) 1 can peas, (drained). I choped my onion instead of in rings. I increased the amounts of oil, splenda and vinegar because of adding the extra canned vegetables. We love this salad, goes great with the slow cooker roast beef recipe I have posted here on allrecipes.com. Thanks for the great recipe. One other time I made it, I added chopped celery AND a small jar of pimento's. Really colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I like this recipe with less sugar. and one of the things I like to add is a can of chick peas, and I always use purple onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is wonderful. I was always looking for a three bean salad recipe with a specific taste and this was it! Other ones leave a vinegar-y taste in your mouth..NOT THIS ONE! **I only used a half a cup of sugar and it was perfect ***UPDATE*** I made a HUGE batch of this for my outdoor wedding and there was none left over. I also bring it to any party where I'm asked to bring a side dish because it seems like everyone loves it **Although it said to refrigerate 12 hours my sister came over about 4 hours after I put it in the fridge. We both ate some (it was still watery of course because I didn't let it sit long) but I strained it and we both agreed it was GOOOOOD **I will bring this salad to EVERY cookout I go to. It was SO easy to put together and the results are comparable to a restaurant! o.k I'll stop now...I just can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
A good basic bean salad recipe, but way too heavy on the sugar for my taste. I cut the sugar by a 1/4 cup and it was still a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This salad is one of my families favorites!! I use red wine vinegar instead of reg. It's better the longer you wait to eat it, if you can wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I make this with garbanzo beans added using my grandmother's recipe. This looks about the same, however, I use chopped fresh celery instead of the celery seed and chopped green peppers in it, too. (chopped small) This is something my grandma has taken to every family reunion since I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This is a great recipe for three bean salad! Per the recommendation of other reviewers I reduced the amount of sugar, but next time I will use the full amount. I like the salad on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This three bean sald is delicious and very easy to make. I added some fresh green beans, steamed for a few minutes to the recipe, making it a four bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is exactly like my recipe..been making it for years..i like to bring it to work for lunch ..light n filling..good source of fibre too...i use splenda sugar and olive oil for less fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I loved it. I have been looking for a good Three bean salad for ages. Thanks. Alice N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States