Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is so good! I'm newly hooked on three-bean salad; I had been buying it in the cans for an easy-to-prepare salad for work lunches, something easy, filling, and far less expensive than the salad bar at the office cafeteria. I found I was adding to the canned stuff and then decided to try a recipe. Based on the modifications of earlier cooks, I added finely diced green pepper, red onion, and celery (omitting the celery seed). My own flourishes were to add drained sweet corn niblets and a couple of good shakes of cumin. I am in love! Next time I'm leaving out the green beans and just using black beans, kidney beans, and garbanzo. I think I'll also add a shake of oregano. This is an excellent base. Sugar, vinegar, oil mixture was right on for me! Thank you so much for this submission. And reviewers, thank you for sharing your tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is wonderful. I was always looking for a three bean salad recipe with a specific taste and this was it! Other ones leave a vinegar-y taste in your mouth..NOT THIS ONE! **I only used a half a cup of sugar and it was perfect ***UPDATE*** I made a HUGE batch of this for my outdoor wedding and there was none left over. I also bring it to any party where I'm asked to bring a side dish because it seems like everyone loves it **Although it said to refrigerate 12 hours my sister came over about 4 hours after I put it in the fridge. We both ate some (it was still watery of course because I didn't let it sit long) but I strained it and we both agreed it was GOOOOOD **I will bring this salad to EVERY cookout I go to. It was SO easy to put together and the results are comparable to a restaurant! o.k I'll stop now...I just can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I make this with garbanzo beans added using my grandmother's recipe. This looks about the same, however, I use chopped fresh celery instead of the celery seed and chopped green peppers in it, too. (chopped small) This is something my grandma has taken to every family reunion since I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Yummy! I added a can of chick peas and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. It was a hit at a 4th of July BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I just made this for the first time for a neighborhood 4th of July picnic and it was gone in no time. Everyone said they loved it. It is a very light and cool summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I love this bean salad! Perfect accompanyment to steaks on the BBQ. I use purple onion chopped, and sub chick peas for the green beans and add 2 cans of kidney beans. You can honestly use any bean variation with this dressing. I also omit the celery seed. Everyone that has eaten this salad has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I like this recipe with less sugar. and one of the things I like to add is a can of chick peas, and I always use purple onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make this all the time. We have had this with dinners for years. It's a great way to use up canned beans, or get children to eat them. I use less sugar than this recipe but it is definitely my "secret" ingredient since I know many people who do not use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was very tasty. I didn't have onion or celery seed so I omitted those ingredients but the recipe still turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a really great 3 bean salad recipe and so, so easy to make. I add chick peas, too. I used the full amount of sugar and thought it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States