Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I used equal part vinegar, sugar and oil (2/3 cup) and, I used red wine vinegar instead of distilled. I added one more can of 7 bean blend (540 ml) and chopped a red onion finely. Didn't have the celery seed, so I added 2 tsp of dried parsley. It was prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
The dressing for this bean salad is perfect. I wouldn't change anything. This is a truly great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We didn't care for the "less sugar" version suggested, that is the only thing I did different except adding a stalk of chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Wonderful! My mom makes this all the time, and I didn't want to bother her for the recipe (yet again!). So I used this recipe, and this is the stuff! We all loved it! Just one caution, don't make a double batch unless you have a football team to feed!! I have no idea what I'm going to do with all this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I am updating this to five stars. This is SO good! This is a great salad to take to a picnic or buffet in summer since it has no mayo in it. I think the amount of sugar is just fine (I use Splenda). I sometimes add a can of wax beans also. And I use celery salt instead of seed and omit the regular salt. Very good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! My husbands grandma makes this and I wrote it down but couldn't find it. So I tried this one and it is exactly the same. I used white kidney beans, chick peas and green beans. I also didn't have any celery seed so I used celery instead. I also added green pepper. Delish! Will make this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I used this recipe because it was the first on the list. I won't even try another. This recipe is so perfect. I make it once a week to have as snacks or to make to take to work. I find it better the longer you let i sit. Over one day is best. You could always substitute the sugar for splenda for healthier version. Lots of fiber in this!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I think this is spectacular! I really like the extra sweetness, you're eating pretty much healthy. I used light red and red kidney's and chick peas.. Also used red onion and chopped celery in place of celery seed... good. Basically we are rating the dressing, and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe for 3 bean salad. I did use fresh green and wax beans, since I am not fond of canned vegetables. I substituted 2 cups of each kind of bean for the 15 oz cans. I needed about 3/4 lb. of green and 3/4 lb. of waxed beans to get the two cups for each type of bean. I steamed the beans until they were crisp tender. Although I initially made half of the dressing like so many recommended, I ended up making another half recipe. I felt it was better for marinating if the beans were soaking in more liquid. When it was time to serve, I did drain out a fair amount of the liquid. I didn't have celery seed, so I skipped that. I added a little chopped celery and green pepper. I did not find the dressing too sweet for my tastes. I did double the salt since I was using fresh beans and low sodium kidney beans. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States