Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this recipe with red onions, added celery, chick peas and red pepper and MUCH less sugar. Delicious, thanks for the recipe (tried not to make too many changes), dressing is delicious with less than 1/2 the sugar too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was absolutely the best First bean salad I made for Christmas and it was gone!!!! I would put alittle less sugar next time a 1/2 cup instead Otherwise loved it and have shared this recipe with all my guests they all wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made this for a Labor Day picnic, and it's very good with less sugar. I used a half cup, and I'd likely use a third cup the next time I make it. I'm just not a sugary girl! Also used red wine vinegar as another review suggested, that was a good idea! Nice kick. Will make this again for sure. Be sure to make it the day before you use it, those flavors really come out after overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very tasty - a little heavy on the oil for my liking though. I used much less and it tasted fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Great recipe. I used Splenda instead of sugar and cut the sweetener to half. I love celery seed so I added extra. I added garbanzo beans like the others and then I also doubled the dressing just because I like it rather liquidity. I'm printing this for my recipe binder now. It's a winner for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I even added bacon bits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Took this to a potluck and eveyone raved. Used 1/3 cup Splenda instead of sugar. Dark red kidney beans make the best looking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scallen
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed the suggestions of others and decreased the sugar, and it was delicious. Because I don't like three-bean salad very sweet, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar. That turned out perfect. Plus, the measurement was convenient since the vinegar and oil each require your 1/3 measuring cup. Also, I followed others' suggestions and used a different vinegar (white wine vinegar) and used garbanzo beans instead of wax beans. One warning: Drain your can of green beans (no need to rinse). The recipe does not say to do that even though it says to drain the kidney beans. If you don't drain the green beans, you will have a very soupy and probably diluted salad. With these adjustments, I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a very good recipe after I adjusted the recipe from other reviews. I added 1/4 finely chopped sweet onion and 2 celery stalks. I used olive oil and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. I threw in about 1/2 teaspoon celery seed since I had it. The onion and celery gave it a slight crunch and I let it marinade overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good, easy to make and healthy. I make it diabetic friendly by substituting a little less than 1/2 cup of Splenda for the sugar ( we like it on the tart side). I also use cider vinegar or red wine vinegar in place of the white. Also a dash of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States