Three Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is so delish, and good for you. My husband said he never thought he would eat something that looked like this...lol...yes he loves it too! I used garbonzo beans instead of kidney beans. I made it like it called for first. Then I tweeked it by just using 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/4 cup..we never noticed that 1/4 C. missing. I have mmade tgis many times now. And there is usuall enough liquid left to use again with new beans and onions....just leave it in for at leaast an hour....thanks for this recipe idea Kim.....Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is the type of recipe I was looking for. I too had no green pepper so used celery. I do think green pepper would be GREAT. Thanks Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was good! I didn't have any bell pepper so I used celery... I also cut back on the sugar and used garbanzo for the wax beans... Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Was almost the kind of three-bean salad that I like. Next time I would cut the sugar down and it would be perfect. I used scallion instead of regular onion. Pretty good and authentic. Just a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe without using any oil! I added 1/4 tsp celery seeds for taste and interest and substituted black beans for kidney and it really was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is my new favorite bean salad recipe. My mom's is good, but I don't like oil in it and this one has none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Very easy and really good. Did make too much juice and I even added a large can of garbanzo beans. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and up the vinegar. This recipe would be difficult to mess up. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made this. It turned out great. I added grabonzo beans it was just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
It took a whole lot of tweaking, but I came up with a delicious bean salad that is not too sweet using this recipe as a base. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 of a cup and increased the vinegar to 3/4 cup. I left the water and other spices alone. I omitted the bell pepper (forgot it) and added a peeled, but not chopped, clove of garlic. I also sliced the onions into thin rings. Only for nostalgas sake. That's how my mom made it. Everyone in the family, except the kid who won't touch a beam, loved it. I let it marinate overnight and it's outstanding. Thanks to all the folks who left their reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Pretty good. I think the sugar and cider vinegar can both be altered to suit your tastes. I prefer a little less sweet and a little more tang, so I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup and increased the cider by 1/4 cup (while reducing the water by 1/4 cup) Also added some different beans (butter and black) and red onion. Others liked it and commented they had never had a bean salad quite like it, as they were taking seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States