Three Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Good basic recipe. Halve the sauce and allow to marinate over night. The photo shown is NOT representative of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
My Mom used to make an excellent 3-bean salad, handed down from her mother...have never been able to find their recipe to get that sweet tang just right. This is it! It's perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
The best bean salad we've ever had! My husband loves it and we can do without all the oil in our diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is a very simple & delicious recipe for 3 bean salad. I do cut the sugar in half & the flavor is still great! I couldn't find wax beans so I substituted garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My mom used to make this and loved it. This is very close but even better. I think it my be the sausiness from the corstarch or the tang from the dry mustard. Thanks for an old family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the typical 3 Bean Salad that I remember eating at family gatherings and picnics growing up. It came out great and I loved making my own dressing instead of using store bought with all the chemicals. I reduced the sugar to 1C and it was still too sweet however. I will try this again with even less sugar. If you want more "tang" I would definitely suggest decreasing the sugar by at least half. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Haven't all of us eaten 3 Bean Salads for years? I know I have....... but this one called for a cooked thickened sauce/dressing that was new to me. I changed the amount of sugar cuz we're trying to minimize carbs at our house, otherwise followed the recipe. It's a good thing to have in the 'fridge for quick meals. Add some cottage cheese and iced tea for a simple summer lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
We like bean salad and I especially liked this one because there was no oil in it and the dressing was cooked and blended better than the uncooked with oil. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
A good, solid side dish. Had actually began with another recipe that, after tasting, ended up rinsing off the beans and going with this. Unfortunately it used chick peas, which did nt absorb the tase well. But a nice tang, and I was pleased. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Another good basic salad recipe which can easily be changed up depending on your likes and dislikes and what is on hand at the time. I wanted a smaller salad so used one tin of a three bean mix and one tin of black beans. I love colour so used green, red and yellow bell peppers in addition to the chopped onion. As per other reviews, the sugar was cut back, and it is still quite sweet. The longer it marinates the better it gets. Thanks, Kim! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States