Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
Yummy! I used fresh cilantro, because I happened to have some. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
cut the sugar in half, and the recipe was great -without too much sweetness. my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I have always kind of liked 3 bean salads, but they were just too strong. When I made this recipe I cut the sugar (I use Splenda) in half and also only used half of the oil. Since we have cilantro and tarragon in the garden I used double the recipe amount of fresh (more could be used to taste)herbs. This is the best 3 bean salad I have ever had. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
I only used half as much sugar, and fresh cilantro,but otherwise stuck to the recipe,and the whole family loved it (even the 'non-bean eaters')! Even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I love bean salad and this was great. I did make a couple of changes though. I only used one third cup of sugar as I don't like it too terribly sweet. I added fresh garlic, the juice of half of a lime, about a cup of a good jarred brushetta and because I didn't have green pepper on hand, I used a small can of green chilies. I'm not big on cilantro or tarragon but added some spices of my choice. I really thought there was too much liquid at first, but after hours of marinating the beans soaked up the liquid perfectly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Love this-it is always a hit with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Based on reviews, I too cut the sugar in half when preparing this dish. I probably should have used a lighter oil or less oil, too. The dish was just a tad too oily but still very colorful (I used light red kidney beans), very filling, and very easy. Will feed plenty. Does indeed get better with lots of time in the fridge. A meal all by itself. The dish, as I prepared it, deserved 4.5 stars. Next time, I will tweak the oil and produce a 5-star salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
My husband liked this recipe very much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Yet ANOTHER winner! I cut the sugar to 1/4 of a cup, used slightly less oil, and omitted the tarragon completely as I can't stand it. Even warm and freshly-made, it is delicious! I can't wait to taste it tomorrow after it's been marinading for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great summer dish. It just gets better and better as it sits in the fridge too! I left out the cilantro, onion and bell peppers though, I like it just plain beans. I use cider vinegar instead of red wine and it tasted fine and I think the proportions of oil/sugar/vinegar are just right for my taste. 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States