Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I love bean salad and this was great. I did make a couple of changes though. I only used one third cup of sugar as I don't like it too terribly sweet. I added fresh garlic, the juice of half of a lime, about a cup of a good jarred brushetta and because I didn't have green pepper on hand, I used a small can of green chilies. I'm not big on cilantro or tarragon but added some spices of my choice. I really thought there was too much liquid at first, but after hours of marinating the beans soaked up the liquid perfectly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Based on reviews, I too cut the sugar in half when preparing this dish. I probably should have used a lighter oil or less oil, too. The dish was just a tad too oily but still very colorful (I used light red kidney beans), very filling, and very easy. Will feed plenty. Does indeed get better with lots of time in the fridge. A meal all by itself. The dish, as I prepared it, deserved 4.5 stars. Next time, I will tweak the oil and produce a 5-star salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I have always kind of liked 3 bean salads, but they were just too strong. When I made this recipe I cut the sugar (I use Splenda) in half and also only used half of the oil. Since we have cilantro and tarragon in the garden I used double the recipe amount of fresh (more could be used to taste)herbs. This is the best 3 bean salad I have ever had. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great summer dish. It just gets better and better as it sits in the fridge too! I left out the cilantro, onion and bell peppers though, I like it just plain beans. I use cider vinegar instead of red wine and it tasted fine and I think the proportions of oil/sugar/vinegar are just right for my taste. 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very nice flavor. I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and still found it to be a little too greasy. Definitely use less oil than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This salad was excellent and I received raves when I served it on Christmas with roast beef. The leftovers were still tasty days later. It was EASY to make, with not a lot of chopping. Next time, I will cut the sugar, vinegar, and oil down to a half cup because it seemed to make to much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
My family RAVED over this bean salad. We LOVE cilantro! I used 1/2 cup light olive oil instead of the veg oil and substituted Splenda sweetner for the white sugar. This was VERY good. The next day I ate some of the leftovers on brown rice for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb1175

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
I only used half as much sugar, and fresh cilantro,but otherwise stuck to the recipe,and the whole family loved it (even the 'non-bean eaters')! Even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
cut the sugar in half, and the recipe was great -without too much sweetness. my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
Yummy! I used fresh cilantro, because I happened to have some. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States