Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe was almost perfect. I say almost because upon first taste, it just didn't have the zing I like in a good bean salad. I added about 2 tablespoons extra sugar and then I added about 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. That made it perfect and man oh MAN! this salad gets better and better as the days pass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Very good. I ended up with far more liquid than was necessary. You could *easily* reduce the liquid portion by 25% and still have enough liquid. I used granulated fructose in place of sugar and was pleased with how it turned out. It wasn't as sweet as I expected, though still delicious. It's a flexible side dish/salad that goes with almost anything. I served it with "Uglies," another allrecipes submission. Since so many cans of beans are used in this recipe, it's a good way to clear out some space in your pantry ... using beans that may have been sitting around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I made a big batch of it for a moms' weekend getaway. It kept wonderfully, served a *lot* of people, and received absolutely rave reviews! In fact, I think the flavor gets even better after it's been around a few days. I didn't have cilantro and substituted parsley, and it was still wonderful. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This salad is sitting in the fridge right now and I can barely wait until tomorrow to serve it at a party. It was delicious even when it was still warm! I even got my finicky little sister to eat it and she loved it (great way to get kids to eat veggies). Since I'm out of town, and don't have access to the same goodies we have in the states, I had to adjust a couple things. I added a can of corn and pinto beans. I didn't have wax beans,dry mustard or tarragon, but I did use fresh cilantro and Badia Sazon Completa, and it tastes fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This salad is fantastic. I didn't put in the tarragon due to personal taste, and my red onion was rather large, so I only put in half of it. I started out with less sugar and oil, tasting as I added more to make sure it didn't get too sweet or oily. By the time I was done, I ended up with the amount the recipe called for. I also used fresh cilantro instead of dried. Served it on July 4th for our BBQ and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Very good and easy to make. I screwed up and bought red beans instead of kidney and it still tasted just fine. You could probably cut the dressing down by a quarter or a half as I was pouring quite a bit of it off the salad after it marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is a great tasting salad that is easy to prepare! I added cucumber and cherry tomatoes as well as fresh cilantro and was really pleased with the results.It just gets better and better and is really tasty in a wrap with a slice of cheese and fresh spinach! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very nice flavor. I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and still found it to be a little too greasy. Definitely use less oil than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This salad was excellent and I received raves when I served it on Christmas with roast beef. The leftovers were still tasty days later. It was EASY to make, with not a lot of chopping. Next time, I will cut the sugar, vinegar, and oil down to a half cup because it seemed to make to much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
My family RAVED over this bean salad. We LOVE cilantro! I used 1/2 cup light olive oil instead of the veg oil and substituted Splenda sweetner for the white sugar. This was VERY good. The next day I ate some of the leftovers on brown rice for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb1175

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States