Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just cut the sugar in half. Everything else is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Pretty good . . .I cut back on the oil (used 1/2 c) and the sugar (also used 1/2 c) and didn't have wax or black beans, so I just doubled the green beans and the kidney beans. I put this in the fridge yesterday afternoon and just stirred whenever I opened the fridge for anything else; left it in overnight and we tried it for lunch. Not bad, but we both felt it was missing something--maybe salt? I added about a teaspoon of kosher salt to the mix and we will try it again after it has had some time to sit. It was a tad sweet for me, but it's also not too vinegary for hubs, so this is a pretty nice recipe. I'll see if the salt helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Overall, an easy recipe to prepare. I thought it was pretty good, although there was a lot of sugar in the sauce (probably too much). I thought the sugar might entice the kids to enjoy some new vegetables, but I had no luck. The unanimously rejected it. So, it was an OK adult dish, but not passable as a kid dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
i suggest mixing the green beans in last, as mine got all squished. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananas360

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
A bit too sweet for me, but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I dont even like 3 bean salad, but made this dish for my parents who love it and I tried it and loved it! I never would touch any bean salads before but this is awesome. I used white beans instead of the garbanzo beans and it was really good. My sister who was also a 3 bean hater wants to get the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the best three bean salad I've ever tasted. I did leave out the green peppers because I felt this salad just didn't need it. I served it at my Memorial Day get together and it got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Tumlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I was looking for a Three Bean salad recipe and decided this was the one. I can't find yellow wax beans in my area but I did use, kidneys,cannelinis,northern whites,black beans and garbanzos, I followed others advice and used 1/2 cup each vinegar and olive oil. I only 1/3 cup sugar. This is a great salad and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swain, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I love this! I just used a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this recipe but without Green Beans or Wax Beans (just didn't have them on hand). I also omitted the cilantro (lol.. I just saw this in the ingredients.. oops) and substituted Dijon Mustard for the dry mustard (didn't have that either). But even with my minor changes, I know that the recipe was perfect as-is. The DH didn't really care for it but he doesn't like dishes like this so his opinion doesn't count.. ;) I could eat this over and over again and for a high fiber/protein, low calorie side dish, I couldn't have asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States