Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just cut the sugar in half. Everything else is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Pretty good . . .I cut back on the oil (used 1/2 c) and the sugar (also used 1/2 c) and didn't have wax or black beans, so I just doubled the green beans and the kidney beans. I put this in the fridge yesterday afternoon and just stirred whenever I opened the fridge for anything else; left it in overnight and we tried it for lunch. Not bad, but we both felt it was missing something--maybe salt? I added about a teaspoon of kosher salt to the mix and we will try it again after it has had some time to sit. It was a tad sweet for me, but it's also not too vinegary for hubs, so this is a pretty nice recipe. I'll see if the salt helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Overall, an easy recipe to prepare. I thought it was pretty good, although there was a lot of sugar in the sauce (probably too much). I thought the sugar might entice the kids to enjoy some new vegetables, but I had no luck. The unanimously rejected it. So, it was an OK adult dish, but not passable as a kid dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
i suggest mixing the green beans in last, as mine got all squished. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananas360

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
A bit too sweet for me, but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I dont even like 3 bean salad, but made this dish for my parents who love it and I tried it and loved it! I never would touch any bean salads before but this is awesome. I used white beans instead of the garbanzo beans and it was really good. My sister who was also a 3 bean hater wants to get the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the best three bean salad I've ever tasted. I did leave out the green peppers because I felt this salad just didn't need it. I served it at my Memorial Day get together and it got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Tumlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I was looking for a Three Bean salad recipe and decided this was the one. I can't find yellow wax beans in my area but I did use, kidneys,cannelinis,northern whites,black beans and garbanzos, I followed others advice and used 1/2 cup each vinegar and olive oil. I only 1/3 cup sugar. This is a great salad and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swain, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I love this! I just used a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this recipe but without Green Beans or Wax Beans (just didn't have them on hand). I also omitted the cilantro (lol.. I just saw this in the ingredients.. oops) and substituted Dijon Mustard for the dry mustard (didn't have that either). But even with my minor changes, I know that the recipe was perfect as-is. The DH didn't really care for it but he doesn't like dishes like this so his opinion doesn't count.. ;) I could eat this over and over again and for a high fiber/protein, low calorie side dish, I couldn't have asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States