Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
When I first made this recipe, my husband and I didn't like it too much. But something told us to try again, and it was a huge success. Here's how we made a recipe that we liked (and so did our family): 1. Cut the celery into small pieces and use two sticks instead of the one it calls for (this way, every bite has crunch) 2. We usually prefer green onions over red, white, yellow, etc. But in this case, we found that the extra crunch added by these varieties are essential. We used white onions instead of green, and that made a world of difference. Make sure to mince or dice very small; again, to get some onion in every bite. Eliminate the onion powder. 3. It was too vinegar-y for our taste, so we cut the vinegar down to 1/2 cup and that yielded a better balance with the oil. 4. Use olive oil, not veg oil 5. Use real minced garlic instead of garlic powder 6. Add salt 7. store the salad in tupperware that you can flip upside down, without leakage. Rotate it at least twice during the marination process. 8. After the salad has had a chance to marinate over night, drain off the excess dressing; otherwise the beans at the bottom will start to degrade. This sounds like more work than it is, and trust me the result is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This is the best bean salad recipe I've tried in a very long time. I made a couple of substitutions - I used 2 Tbsp. of red onion for crunch instead of celery and then omitted the onion powder. I also substituted 1 lg. clove of garlic for garlic powder and added 1 tsp. of chopped chives. The dressing is perfect; not too sweet, just the right tang and the cayenne adds just the right amount of heat. This has definitely become my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I would rate this 6 stars = "can it get any better?" This recipe is definitely a "keeper" I made this yesterday with a few changes and got rave reviews from my friends. Substituted lima for garbanzo, medium sweet onion sliced thin for the green onions, medium green pepper chopped for the celery, olive oil instead of veggie oil and 1 clove garlic pressed for the powder. Didn't use onion powder or cayenne pepper. I would recommend to refrigerate it for at least 4 hours and flipping it over or stirring it several times while marinating, but overnite would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
A very good bean salad. Many are too strong and pickle-y, but the dressing in this one is just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is an excellent bean salad! Followed the recipe exactly except used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and omitted the onion powder. Usually bean salad is too sweet for me but this was great and we loved the little bit of heat from the cayenne! Only change I might make next time would be to also add some chopped green pepper for another layer of flavor. Will definitely make again! Update: Made it again using about 1/3 cup diced green pepper and black beans instead of garbanzos. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I've tried almost every 5 star three bean salad recipe on this sight, I wish I'd started with this recipe because it is the BEST ! I omitted the cayanne pepper for the kids, this salad is not to sweet like most. Wonderful recipe ! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Very tasty dressing to this salad. I added cilantro, radishes, and green pepper. I also used fresh green beans instead of canned for added freshness and crunch. I made this salad for 2 separate dinner guests and both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I was looking for a bean salad and I found it! This is great and the dressing is wonderful. However, I did add 1 large clove garlic to the dressing, skipped the garlic and onion powders as I added green and red onions to the beans. Again, the dressing is wonderful and would be great on anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
1 stalk of celery is way too much for this recipe. I used only 1 rib the second time I made this, which was a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I was going to make 'Three Bean Salad I' but because I didn't have all the ingredients, I thought I'd make this instead. To be honest, I think I prefer the other one more - more variety of beans, plus I use fresh cilantro in it, which we really like. I did, however, like the honey and garlic in this one. Next time I will just use the things I like best from both recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States