Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This is the best bean salad recipe I've tried in a very long time. I made a couple of substitutions - I used 2 Tbsp. of red onion for crunch instead of celery and then omitted the onion powder. I also substituted 1 lg. clove of garlic for garlic powder and added 1 tsp. of chopped chives. The dressing is perfect; not too sweet, just the right tang and the cayenne adds just the right amount of heat. This has definitely become my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
A very good bean salad. Many are too strong and pickle-y, but the dressing in this one is just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I was looking for a bean salad and I found it! This is great and the dressing is wonderful. However, I did add 1 large clove garlic to the dressing, skipped the garlic and onion powders as I added green and red onions to the beans. Again, the dressing is wonderful and would be great on anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made this dish last night for lunch today...used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, but did everything else exactly as the recipe said. It was easy and tastes great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was good. I think when making again though I would reduce the amount of vinegar a bit I made this first thing this morning and served this evening so it had plenty of time standing but the vinegar was very noticeable. Going to have to leave the celery out too. I keep sneaking it in and my family keep noticing. These things are just personal taste though. With adjustments will make again for sure. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is an excellent bean salad! Followed the recipe exactly except used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and omitted the onion powder. Usually bean salad is too sweet for me but this was great and we loved the little bit of heat from the cayenne! Only change I might make next time would be to also add some chopped green pepper for another layer of flavor. Will definitely make again! Update: Made it again using about 1/3 cup diced green pepper and black beans instead of garbanzos. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Good recipe. I guess I like my bean salad just a little sweeter so I added about 2 tblsp of Splenda. I really enjoyed this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was nice and something I don't normally include as a side. Loved the fact that honey was the sweetener instead of the usual sugar. Kids and hubby enjoyed this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I would rate this 6 stars = "can it get any better?" This recipe is definitely a "keeper" I made this yesterday with a few changes and got rave reviews from my friends. Substituted lima for garbanzo, medium sweet onion sliced thin for the green onions, medium green pepper chopped for the celery, olive oil instead of veggie oil and 1 clove garlic pressed for the powder. Didn't use onion powder or cayenne pepper. I would recommend to refrigerate it for at least 4 hours and flipping it over or stirring it several times while marinating, but overnite would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I've tried almost every 5 star three bean salad recipe on this sight, I wish I'd started with this recipe because it is the BEST ! I omitted the cayanne pepper for the kids, this salad is not to sweet like most. Wonderful recipe ! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States