Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe just wasn't for my wife and I. I would still encourage others to give it a try for everyone has difference preferences for food. You only know if you like something if you take the time to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I needed a recipe so I could add more beans to my diet and found this. It became a 5 star receipe after I tweaked it. Since I was only serving a few people, I only used 1 can of Tri-bean blend (use 2 if serving more people), 1 can of cut green beans, 1 diced red pepper, 1/2 med. sized yellow onion very thinly sliced and 1-1/2 tsp. minced fresh oregano I had on hand. For the dressing, I only used 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, Pompeian Extra Virgin Olive oil in place of the vegetable oil, 2 tsp. country dijon mustard in place of dry, 1 tbs. of minced shallots in place of onion powder, 2 minced garlic cloves in place of powder and of course the honey (use raw honey if you want it really healthy!) - the dressing is very yummy and can use the recipe for salads, chicken or shrimp marinade, etc. I marinated overnight and eliminated the excess dressing and wow---never thought I would like bean salad this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I could not stop eating this!! It was delicious and EASY! I made one substitution - olive oil - not for any other reason than I didn't have any vegetable oil on hand. Oh, I also didn't have canned green beans, so I steamed the fresh ones I had. Making it again, right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
A little too strong on the vinegar, but otherwise this recipe was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was pretty good, but could have used a bit more tanginess for my taste. Next time I will use the full 1/2 cup vinegar as called for in the original recipe. I had adjusted it down based on the most common complaint in the comments. The dressing was smooth and mellow. I think the honey was a great non-sweet touch. But it needed more vinegar. Also, the green beans were a little mushy (even though I drained the salad after about 5 hours, as some commenters recommended). And, the garbanzos were hard and bland. Next time I will use canned white beans instead. I also will change canned green beans to fresh or maybe red/pinto beans. The kidney beans were perfect and picked up the flavor nicely. I like 3-bean salad and want a good recipe. This one has promise, I will definitely use it again with adjustments to my taste as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
It was really good except we thought it had a little too much vinegar. Next time I'll use 1/4 cup instead of 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I made a lots of adjustments. I used tri-bean can of black beans, kidney beans and pinto beans. I did not use garbanzo, onions or celery. I used distilled white vinegar and red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I doubled the black pepper, cayenne pepper and onion powder. I added a sprinkle of parsley flakes. Topped it with diced avocado and feta. I added 1T lime juice for the avocado when served. Also for good measure I used 1 can whole kernel corn. This was great I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephS.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
A light side dish, but I don't think I'd ever make it again, we never finished it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Loved this- didn't even make it to the Easter dinner table as hubs couldn't leave it alone! Only addition was some minced fresh parsley for a little taste and color. Love the crunchiness of the celery with the creaminess of the beans. Will be my go to 3 Bean from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
amazing recipe!! I've made this soooo many times!! It's soooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States