Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great combination of herbs and spices, and vegetables. I used Tarragon Vinegar which added a subtle flavor that enhanced it all. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The one I have uses both green and yellow beans (canned) and that I personally dislike kidney beans so use garbanzos and black beans and it suits me better that way. I liked the idea of adding radishes, myself--hadn't thought of them. The beauty of recipes like this is just finding a dressing that your family likes, and changing ingredients for the salad itself to what you have on hand, what you like, etc. I would like to use fresh beans in summer but haven't managed to remember to do that yet! Some of the canned ones are so mushy/overcooked at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I do not like this recipe but it may be my fault. I did not use celery, which I do not think makes any difference and I also used olive oil. The oil seemed to coagulate. I don't know if other oils will do this when they get cold but I don't care for the taste. I think I will keep looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Tried it as written. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
1 stalk of celery is way too much for this recipe. I used only 1 rib the second time I made this, which was a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe just wasn't for my wife and I. I would still encourage others to give it a try for everyone has difference preferences for food. You only know if you like something if you take the time to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I needed a recipe so I could add more beans to my diet and found this. It became a 5 star receipe after I tweaked it. Since I was only serving a few people, I only used 1 can of Tri-bean blend (use 2 if serving more people), 1 can of cut green beans, 1 diced red pepper, 1/2 med. sized yellow onion very thinly sliced and 1-1/2 tsp. minced fresh oregano I had on hand. For the dressing, I only used 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, Pompeian Extra Virgin Olive oil in place of the vegetable oil, 2 tsp. country dijon mustard in place of dry, 1 tbs. of minced shallots in place of onion powder, 2 minced garlic cloves in place of powder and of course the honey (use raw honey if you want it really healthy!) - the dressing is very yummy and can use the recipe for salads, chicken or shrimp marinade, etc. I marinated overnight and eliminated the excess dressing and wow---never thought I would like bean salad this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I could not stop eating this!! It was delicious and EASY! I made one substitution - olive oil - not for any other reason than I didn't have any vegetable oil on hand. Oh, I also didn't have canned green beans, so I steamed the fresh ones I had. Making it again, right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
A little too strong on the vinegar, but otherwise this recipe was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was pretty good, but could have used a bit more tanginess for my taste. Next time I will use the full 1/2 cup vinegar as called for in the original recipe. I had adjusted it down based on the most common complaint in the comments. The dressing was smooth and mellow. I think the honey was a great non-sweet touch. But it needed more vinegar. Also, the green beans were a little mushy (even though I drained the salad after about 5 hours, as some commenters recommended). And, the garbanzos were hard and bland. Next time I will use canned white beans instead. I also will change canned green beans to fresh or maybe red/pinto beans. The kidney beans were perfect and picked up the flavor nicely. I like 3-bean salad and want a good recipe. This one has promise, I will definitely use it again with adjustments to my taste as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States