Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was really good. I did use garbanzo beans in place of the wax beans since that was what I had. Also after reading some of the reviews I decided to cut the sugar to a 1/2 cup. It was sweet enough for us. That is the nice thing about most recipes...you can alter them to your liking. And that's o.k. because we all have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Easy, tasty side dish - I followed the recipe exactly. This is a great dish to pass at a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a great salad. I don't like Yellow beans so I used chic peas. My daughter said it was her new favorite salad !! Next time I make it I will add a little more vinegar, salt and pepper, and cut back on the sugar. I love sugar, but I thought this was a little overpowering in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This salad was very good, but a little too sweet. I loved the addition of celery seeds it made it taste very good. It's a good make ahead recipe. You can substitute the beans for any canned beans you have on hand. Great picnic salad and gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
The beauty of this salad is that nearly all ingredients can be kept on the shelf until you need them, so you can whip this up whenever you need it. Add a can of drained shoepeg white or yellow kernel corn, dark red and light red kidney beans, yellow wax beans and green beans, and use a red onion - we call it calico bean salad because it is so colorful. Don't be afraid of the sugar unless you plan to drink the marinade - it gets dissolved in the liquid the beans retain, and the marinade is drained when the salad is served. It tastes better after a day or two in the fridge. The onions mellow out in the marinade. Try adding red or green pepper strips as others have suggested. This is a delicous make-ahead salad for buffets - or just every day. My husband asks for this frequently - (I do cut the sugar to 1/2 cup or half sugar, half Splenda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious! Use any 3 beans you like and this is wonderful and easy to make. Can leave out the onion if you don't like it. But absolutely my new favorite summery recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
You can substitute honey for the processed sugar. It only takes 1/2 as much to give the same amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
We love to keep this salad in the fridge for munching. I get the green and wax beans locally, clean them up, trim the ends, cut into 2 inch pieces, then blanch for 3 minutes in boiling water. While I do love the sweetness, I also cut the sugar down, just to hamper my "sweet veggie" guilt. This is a perfect recipe to keep around and pull out at a moment's notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Excellent taste! I used fresh green beans, canned chick peas and white kidney beans as they all I had on hand. The sweetness has my bean-shy husband eating seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Edit: Made this again tonight with a can of mixed beans, thinly sliced baby carrots, finely chopped jalapeno pepper, frozen peas, yellow onion, parsley and cider vinegar. YUM! Excellent recipe to jump off from! All I had in my kitchen (literally) was a bag of Bob's Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix, a red onion, honey, olive oil and vinegar. I cooked the beans with salt and garlic powder and while they were still warm I mixed them with the olive oil, honey, and some zinfandel vinegar from Sonoma Lake Winery. Then I added the sliced red onion. I also included the s&p and celery seed which added a great flavor. The honey instead of sugar was very good and healthier! I'm saving this recipe and will definitely make it again, even with the 13 bean mix - though next time I might pick out the lentils to give the finished product a cleaner appearance. Use any beans you like for this recipe, and as many different types, it doesn't have to just be 3. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States