Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was good. I made it for a party and everyone loved it! No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious and perfect for a picnic. I used 4 beans and less sugar. Definitely got better the longer it marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was really good. I did use garbanzo beans in place of the wax beans since that was what I had. Also after reading some of the reviews I decided to cut the sugar to a 1/2 cup. It was sweet enough for us. That is the nice thing about most recipes...you can alter them to your liking. And that's o.k. because we all have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Easy, tasty side dish - I followed the recipe exactly. This is a great dish to pass at a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a great salad. I don't like Yellow beans so I used chic peas. My daughter said it was her new favorite salad !! Next time I make it I will add a little more vinegar, salt and pepper, and cut back on the sugar. I love sugar, but I thought this was a little overpowering in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This salad was very good, but a little too sweet. I loved the addition of celery seeds it made it taste very good. It's a good make ahead recipe. You can substitute the beans for any canned beans you have on hand. Great picnic salad and gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
The beauty of this salad is that nearly all ingredients can be kept on the shelf until you need them, so you can whip this up whenever you need it. Add a can of drained shoepeg white or yellow kernel corn, dark red and light red kidney beans, yellow wax beans and green beans, and use a red onion - we call it calico bean salad because it is so colorful. Don't be afraid of the sugar unless you plan to drink the marinade - it gets dissolved in the liquid the beans retain, and the marinade is drained when the salad is served. It tastes better after a day or two in the fridge. The onions mellow out in the marinade. Try adding red or green pepper strips as others have suggested. This is a delicous make-ahead salad for buffets - or just every day. My husband asks for this frequently - (I do cut the sugar to 1/2 cup or half sugar, half Splenda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious! Use any 3 beans you like and this is wonderful and easy to make. Can leave out the onion if you don't like it. But absolutely my new favorite summery recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
You can substitute honey for the processed sugar. It only takes 1/2 as much to give the same amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
We love to keep this salad in the fridge for munching. I get the green and wax beans locally, clean them up, trim the ends, cut into 2 inch pieces, then blanch for 3 minutes in boiling water. While I do love the sweetness, I also cut the sugar down, just to hamper my "sweet veggie" guilt. This is a perfect recipe to keep around and pull out at a moment's notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States