Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I found this to be very easy and tasty. It's better if you make it the day before so the flavors can come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I have made this with the follwing changes: only use 1/3 c sugar since I don't like it really sweet but it still has some hint of the sugar; use the beans as called for in the recipe and add garbanzo beans and cut artichoke hearts (in water); recently also added canned black beans - very good. There is enough liquid that you don't need to alter it when you add the additional items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I liked the fact that this recipe wasn't too vinegary, but I found it too sweet; I would definitely use less sugar (half) less time. I used diced celery in place of the seed, and it added a really nice crunch that lasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erzsybear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
WOW! Absolutely fantastic! I too used a little less sugar and a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Quick. Good. I read the other reviews first. I went w/ dark red kidney beans, green beans and garbanzo beans; I also used red onion and had some fresh parsley on hand, so I tossed it in. Used "fine" red vine vinegar and EVOO. S&P to taste. After reading the reviews, I did not add the sugar immediately--I added to taste as well. . . .3/4 c of sugar seemed overwhelming. Do not know how much I ultimately used, but can say it wasn't near 3/4 c. Missing a little bite that I guess I was used to growing up with this dish. Next time I'll try this recipe w/ apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar for more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was the first time I've made a 3-bean salad, & it was great. I also used half the amount of sugar called for, and would probably use only 1/4 cup next time. I also added chick peas to the mix to turn it into a 4-bean salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used white balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandsusan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Surprisingly good!. I use only 1/3 cup sugar and 1/4 cup oil and it turned out great. I have made this 3 times in the last month since it is so easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Become one of my staples for summer picnics since it is a great salad with no mayo. I usually only use 1/3 cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The dressing perfect! Just the way I like it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luchinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States