Three Bean Potluck Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe about a dozen times before, but never doubled it until yesterday. I found that adding the liquid from all 4 cans of kidney and butter beans makes it too soupy. It's usually much thicker. If I double it again, I will proabably try omitting the liquid from one or two cans of beans. Regardless, it still tasted delicious and everyone loved it! I cooked it in a 6-qt. crock pot for 3 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very good recipe-meat definately played the starring role in this dish. I followed the recipes exactly and this was a big hit. This recipe is also very generous in it's portion size and could very well serve as a main dish. I will definately make this again and maybe add another can of beans to throw off the abundnace of meat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I just got back from a potluck that I took this dish to. I didn't have any leftovers to bring home and a couple folks asked for the recipe, so it's a keeper. I did add about 1 tbsp.of Worcestershire Sauce and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Also, was out of dry mustard so I used about 1 tbsp. regular yellow mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This worked pretty well and was really easy. It's sort of like chunky sloppy joes. I put it in the crock pot for two hours on high but it could've used more. I also would've used less brown sugar, since it was pretty sweet from the baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was so easy to make! Fry up the bacon, cook the meat and the onion in the same pan, dump in the rest and voila! I eyeballed the sugar, ketchup, mustard, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaudert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was very good, and went together quickly. I used bbq baked beans and cannellini in place of the butter beans. I drained the kidney beans and cannellini , and added half a beer to make up for the lost liquid. I cooked it in in my crockpot on high for 2 hours (I think another hour would have been better). My crockpot was scraped clean at the neighborhood potluck, so I guess it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Great dish for a one-pot dinner. I also like to add some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have used a similair recipe and had lost it so when I found this one I thought I would try it again. I would give it 5 but I used green beans instead of butter and didnt use nearly that much brown sugar. Threw it all in a crock pot for a couple of hours and it was good to go. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Awesome! Only variation is that I didn't have any ketsup so I used half spaghetti sause and half BBQ sauce. Two people at the potluck asked for the recipe for their kid's graduation parties. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've been making this for years & it's always a favorite. My recipe calls for a tsp. or so of Liquid Smoke, a little goes a long way but really adds to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States