Three Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this a few years ago for my husband and his girlfriend(Ididn't know at the time) and everyone loved it, especially me. I have been looking for the recipe thought because I lost it after I left the husband. I am so glad I found it again....Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
All the ingredients in this are things that I like so I figured it was worth trying. I gave it five stars. It's not a prime rib five star but for taste it's definately a fast five star meal. I did change the a few things. I used kielbasa instead of hot dogs because my wife wont eat hot dogs but likes kielbasa. I uses white beans instead of the honey beans and added a can of pinto beans, making it a four bean casserole, just to take up the extra room in a 9x13 casserole dish. I also added a sprinke of garlic powder and pepper. I couldn't get enough of this tasty treat! Thanks Joann for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by heart2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved the flavor of this casserole. I thought the sauce was a little to thin, so next time I might cook it on the stove first to reduce and thicken it. I also thought the hot dogs overwhelmed the "bean casserole" so I will only use half a pound next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I think I would have given it a 5, had I known wether or not the instructions are correct. The way I made it, I consider it a 5. My kids loved them. My husband said they were good. That's pretty good to hear it out of him. Because the only thing he really LOVES is steak. If he says it's good, it must be. ****FOLLOW UP**** I was in the canned bean section of the grocery store and noticed "chili beans", which are just pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
Very quick and easy. I passed out 5 copies of the recipe the first time I served it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this just as written and wouldn't change a thing. It really has a lot of flavor. I definitely didn't get 8 servings though--just six small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was fantastic! Made as is (used Gwaltney's chicken hot dogs, suggested by Kroger customer--which were great!). It was a cold night in Virginia, and this was so filling. Served it with cheap heat and serve rolls, a meal for four around $7.00, can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was great. I added a can of spicy chili instead of chili beans and used brats instead of hot dogs. SO good. I'm pregnant and craving spicy so I might have thought it was better than it really was. My husband liked it though! We ate it as a main dish but it would be a great side to take to a potluck. Reminded me of a "settler's beans" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was a hit for a family picnic yesterday. We changed the franks to bacon, white beans instead of pinto and omitted the oregano. Next time we'll repeat but include the pinto and oregeno as suggested. We like the idea of Kelbasa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is similar to a recipe I've made for several years called "Polish Beans." I tweaked this a little bit: Used 1 lb. ground round with 2 sliced hot dogs. Also added a healthy splash of REAL maple syrup (not the fake stuff!) and a big dollop of ketchup and prepared mustard. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTWOMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States