Three Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very mixed reviews in my house. I thought it was a nice twist on a traditional sweet three bean salad. It is tangy and tart and a nice complement to the artichokes. My husband did not care for it at all and thought it was too acidic and needed some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The lemon juice really makes a nice change to the usual vinegar in bean salads. I reduced the oil to 3T and felt it could even be a little less. I used edamame instead of butter beans - very nice, adds protein and color. I threw ina little chopped fresh red peer for crunch, color and increased nutrients and used small white beans instead of kidney. Needed a good bit of salt and pepper, perhaps because I didn't have mustard on hand. All swappable! My friends enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is different and tasty. Maybe the kind of mustard I used was unusually sour, but I needed to add a teaspoon or so of sugar to rescue the dressing. Tried it with a few good sprinkles of tarragon, and that made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This recipe was great, but we did make a few changes (mostly due to ingredients we had at home). We substituted wax beans for the butter beans, omitted the mustard, and also put in some garbanzo beans, hominy, feta cheese, and roasted bell peppers. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I love artichokes and had them in my pantry. Perfect timing because this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great salad, but I found the original recipe to be a little bland. I added some roasted red pepper and minced red onion for color. Also, I added some fresh basil and minced garlic to the dressing. Terrific for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I made this recipe for a recent BBQ i attended, and the salad was a hit! I just swapped roasted red peppers for the artichokes because they were not at my grocery store. Very light and not sweet, like typical bean salads are. I even got a compliment from one person, saying he loved it because it did not have too many kidney beans in it, like other bean salads he had tried. I would defintiely make this simple, easy, fast recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutButterRocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheeling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a great salad! I used fresh beans for a nice, snappy flavor. The mustard makes this dish, so use a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe is a good twist if you are not in the mood for the same old 3 bean salad. I brought this to a potluck bbq and almost everyone went back for thirds of this dish until it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very versatile dish- I substitued cannellini beans because I did not have butter beans on hand and I also used marinated artichoke hearts instead. If you don't have the marinated artichokes on hand you could just add a small clove of garlic crushed to the dressing for added flavor. You could really play with the ingredients on this one to suit your tastes! Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States