Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good & simple. Dill relish makes the best thousand island dressings. I added a bit more chili sauce, a dash of s & p and drop of Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious! It's definitely not like the "authentic" type, but it does the job if you don't have any on hand and need something in a hurry. Very good as a topper for sandwiches! I cut the recipe in half, used Hellman's light mayo (cut that back just a bit) and added a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
No more store bought Thousand Island Dressing for me! Dill relish and a dash of Worcestershire as others suggested. It's another one of those, "why didn't I think of that" recipes. Thank you Darlis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
very good and my husband loved it. i did however add more chili sauce since i didnt think it had enough. will make again. thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
My husband went to the store to buy a jar of 1000 island in the produce area (you know the brands!) but they did not have any. I found this recipe and WOW. It is super easy and fantastic. I did add a dash of worcestershire as suggested by the other reviewers. No more store bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved how simple this recipe is to make and yet the taste is perfect. I used Dill relish and, like another reviewer, used a dash of Worcestershire Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was good but after letting sit for a day it was way to spicy to eat and it was no good on the rueben sandwichs my husband and I made it for. Maybe next time I won't use as much chili sauce and don't let it sit over-night, make sure you use it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I needed something quick and easy, something I didn't have to go to the store for and something that would create no leftovers. Yes, there are far better and more "authentic" Thousand Island dressing recipes but this worked well in a pinch, which was exactly what I had in mind. It was a little heavy on the mayo and kind of flat but a bit of extra chili sauce and some salt and pepper took care of that! For what I was looking for this was perfect. This would also make great burger sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I'm not sure I would call this thousand island dressing but we really enjoyed it. On the thick side and a little spicy. I only buy it for reubens and then the rest goes to waste. This is perfect for us since I always have these three ingredients in the house and we always enjoy a little kick in our sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely perfect. Better than the most expensive store brand that they keep in the cold section. I did add the worcestershire sauce as others suggested. Thank you for saving my salad dressing budget!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States