Thit Bo Xao Dau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The one who wrote this recipe probably doesn't come from Vietnam. Some of you complaint it's not flavorful is because of the technique wasn't right! You don't use 1 clove of galic! You use as much as you like! put on medium high fire add oil then meat stir fast until it changer color half way, add a bit fish sause (enough to taste). When the meat just change color all together, transfer it to a dish. Remember beef or pork stir-fried too long with medium heat get chewy! Then add more galic and a bit more oil if you want on medium-high to high heat, pour in green beens. You need to stir them fast and continueously until they all turn to deeper green color; season with more fish sauce to the taste or you can use seasoned salted. The second stage of the been is to low down the heat to medium to low medium, stir the beens every 10 seconds or so untill they get soft. You may add tablespoon of water or so few times. Please remember that unlike chinese food, VERY few Vietnamese dishes have cornstarch in them in other to make the food look thick and shiny. Also remember unlike other Asian foods, southeast asian food (includind Thai food for example)season with fish sauce rather than soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I loved this recipe and have made it several times. Very easy and quick to prepare. Once I substituted beef broth for chicken and the results were tasty and rich - kind of beef-soupy. Instead of taking the beef out I left it to simmer with the green beans which made it more succulent. This dish is also good served over ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Easy and fast to prepare, good tasting, balanced meal. Not spicy at all, just a nice light-but-filling meal. I liked the idea to use this over ramen noodles, we'll try that next time! And there will be a next time, because this is the first Vietnamese dish I've ever really enjoyed. We did use a little extra garlic, and I just cut up a steak instead of using sirloin tips, and a little less oil, but no major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I added onion slices and julienned carrot for color and a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
This was a good easy recipe to make. I substituted sliced green peppers for the bean. Also, I ended up adding a little more cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce. Overall, a delicious, easy, and quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This is my idea of a great recipe; simple, beautiful, and delicious. I added some minced fresh ginger and mushrooms to this dish, too. So much better, and faster, than any cream-of-something-soup casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
The meat was super tough and the whole dish lacked flavor. My husband was very dissapointed with this one as was I. We don't even want to try to bother to docotor this one. My only thought is that if you like really mild food, you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This recipe was very good. The only thing I did not care for was the amount of "oil" that stayed in the meal. It was a little to greasy for my taste. I would definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I didn't change a thing and it turned out wonderful! Fits my low-carb diet requirements (6-7 carbs). VERY tasty. Very easy. Very commmon ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Good & easy. Do not know why it is said to be Vietnamise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States