Thit Bo Xao Dau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this for my family the other night and they went crazy over it! My daughter who is 7 had fun just trying to pronounce the name of the dish. My husband raved about it and after words took the leftovers to work with him. Thanks again for the delicious meal. We'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The one who wrote this recipe probably doesn't come from Vietnam. Some of you complaint it's not flavorful is because of the technique wasn't right! You don't use 1 clove of galic! You use as much as you like! put on medium high fire add oil then meat stir fast until it changer color half way, add a bit fish sause (enough to taste). When the meat just change color all together, transfer it to a dish. Remember beef or pork stir-fried too long with medium heat get chewy! Then add more galic and a bit more oil if you want on medium-high to high heat, pour in green beens. You need to stir them fast and continueously until they all turn to deeper green color; season with more fish sauce to the taste or you can use seasoned salted. The second stage of the been is to low down the heat to medium to low medium, stir the beens every 10 seconds or so untill they get soft. You may add tablespoon of water or so few times. Please remember that unlike chinese food, VERY few Vietnamese dishes have cornstarch in them in other to make the food look thick and shiny. Also remember unlike other Asian foods, southeast asian food (includind Thai food for example)season with fish sauce rather than soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was all right. As some have noted, we also found it to be a bit bland. Not a bad dish, just lacking flavour. Try adding some spices like ginger or some peppers (chili or a sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
to make it more authentic, just use oyster sauce instead of soy sauce. It'll have more flavor and you won't need to use the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
The meat was super tough and the whole dish lacked flavor. My husband was very dissapointed with this one as was I. We don't even want to try to bother to docotor this one. My only thought is that if you like really mild food, you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
scrumptuous! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe lacked a little in the flavor department. Maybe more garlic would add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This recipe was very good. The only thing I did not care for was the amount of "oil" that stayed in the meal. It was a little to greasy for my taste. I would definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
YUM, YUM, YUM!!! Made it for the first time tonight. Pretty simple. I couldn't find steak tips, so I bought a really good cut of some angus steak and it was so tender. I wasn't sure how juicy/flavorful it would be with such few ingredients, but it was delicious. The best part was it only has 4 net carbs per serving, so no guilt on my Atkins diet! I may try the red pepper flakes next time to add some spice. I will be sharing this with friends and family immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I've made this several times over the past few years and it's always great! I don't change a thing! The meat is very tender and quite flavorful! We had it again for dinner tonight and realized I had forgotten to rate it the first time I made it. Thanks so much, Maryellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States