Thit Bo Xao Dau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Amanda J.
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated and it was blah with very little flavor. However, after some doctoring it turned out not so bad. I ended up adding orange zest, orange juice, good honey, salt, more soy sauce and a bit of teryaki sauce and we liked it better. What I did like about the recipe was the easy to follow cooking instructions, the meat was tender and not at all over-cooked, but I will look for a better recipe next time as far as seasonings go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I happen to have fresh green beans and sirloin on hand so i decided to make this recipe. It was very easy, quick and tasty.Becuase i LOVE the taste of fish sauce in these kind of dishes, i added a little bit of fish sauce along with the soy sauce. I would have given it 5 stars had the recipe called for fish sauce. i think thats what made this dish tasty...that and lots of fresh garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Love this recipe! You can substitute sugar snap peas or whatever vegetable you have on hand. I am not sure how authentic it is, but I have served it with rice, pasta or ramen noodles. It is super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Very tasty. My Vietnamese mother was always too impatient to provide recipes for her food - to her, it is all cooked "to taste," which means she's not interested in using and/or writing down measurements. To this recipe, I did add a little chili oil for kick, and was very generous with the garlic. In addition to green beans, my mother used to make this with sugar snap peas-also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I'll be honest the recipe seemed a little different than I expected, sweeter. I think once was good. My husband really liked it though, and it is hard to get him to eat veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe was very easy and quick to make. Turned out very good. I did add more garlic and used fish sauce instead of soy sauce like other reviewers recommended and enjoyed it very much. Next time, I will add chili flakes though, just becaue I think it will give the recipe a little more kick. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I just made this tonight, and my husband and 2-year old loved it! It was really easy and yummy! I served it with beef/vermicelli rice and I also used fat free, low-sodium chicken broth. I would recommend to EVERYONE!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
awesome!!!! I did not change a thing in the recipe but i was worried about it being bland so I added beef bullion to the rice yummy! this ia a great recipe, thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
As is, this recipe is 3 stars, but, with some simple doctoring, it can easily be 5 stars. I marinated the meat in fish sauce, low sodium soy sauce, olive oil, a dash of sesame oil, fresh garlic, ginger and cilantro for about 2 hours. I left out the cornstarch mixture all together. To the stir-fry I added sliced scallions, red pepper flakes and lime juice. Don't add salt, you won't need it, but, fresh cracked pepper is good. Then, when all was done, I tossed some fresh cilantro, thai basil and mint in it! This is a great starter recipe that you can alter according to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this for my family the other night and they went crazy over it! My daughter who is 7 had fun just trying to pronounce the name of the dish. My husband raved about it and after words took the leftovers to work with him. Thanks again for the delicious meal. We'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States