This and That BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Not bad for a quick BBQ sauce... I cut the recipe in half and used 2 Tbsp. of browning sauce and 2 Tbsp. of molasses. It is definitely tangy so I added a little more brown sugar. Since I felt it needed a little "something", I also added a little liquid smoke along with some onion and garlic powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this sauce! The first time I made it I added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Oops! It still turned out amazing. I didn't use the brown sauce or add anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a great BBQ sauce on my oven baked pork ribs. It thickened up nicely...however, although I love vineger, it was still a bit much even after adding 1/4 cup of brown sugar. So the next time I made it I switched the measurements of worchestershire and brown sugar, but didn't change anything else. It was much nicer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This doesn't really taste like BBQ sauce, it's very tangy. I only used about 1/2 the balsamic vinegar and it's still vinegary. I added a 3oz can of tomato paste, that helped a little but we won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
brown sauce.......is the same as HP sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce turned out great! I too made a few changes. Limited white vinegar to 1/8 cup, add garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne powder, and some liquid smoke. I did not have any lemon juice or dry mustard on hand, but I am sure they would have made the sauce even better. Also, I did increase the brown sugar, as recommended by others. Wonderful recipe, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a good base for a BBQ sauce. I found it to be too tangy & too sweet. I added quite a few things to it. Just to make it to my family style. I added fresh minced garlic, cracked black pepper, a little bit of coffee, a splash of red wine, a squeeze of grape jelly (I know! But it is good!) and a package of Lipton's Mushroom Onion soup mix. It toned it down and gave it a little more depth. While these flavors would seem to overwhelm and be crazy they come together nicely. Thanks for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Skipped the Worcestershire sauce, and it still comes out amazing! Super easy and very flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful quick and easy sauce. Brown Sauce is an english ketchup-like sauce. I think its similar to brown sauce by Heinz. It's a litte too much vinegar, so I will try with the molasses the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This seems really easy but...What is brown sauce? I increased to 1/2 cup brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of prepared bbq sauce (weird since the point was to make bbq sauce but I'll put it into the same category as making yogurt--you need yogurt to make yogurt). I also didn't have dry mustard so I put in about a tablespoon of yellow mustard. I eliminated worcestershire sauce because I was out but I think I would use it next time. It turned out sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States