This and That BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Not bad for a quick BBQ sauce... I cut the recipe in half and used 2 Tbsp. of browning sauce and 2 Tbsp. of molasses. It is definitely tangy so I added a little more brown sugar. Since I felt it needed a little "something", I also added a little liquid smoke along with some onion and garlic powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this sauce! The first time I made it I added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Oops! It still turned out amazing. I didn't use the brown sauce or add anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a great BBQ sauce on my oven baked pork ribs. It thickened up nicely...however, although I love vineger, it was still a bit much even after adding 1/4 cup of brown sugar. So the next time I made it I switched the measurements of worchestershire and brown sugar, but didn't change anything else. It was much nicer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This doesn't really taste like BBQ sauce, it's very tangy. I only used about 1/2 the balsamic vinegar and it's still vinegary. I added a 3oz can of tomato paste, that helped a little but we won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
brown sauce.......is the same as HP sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce turned out great! I too made a few changes. Limited white vinegar to 1/8 cup, add garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne powder, and some liquid smoke. I did not have any lemon juice or dry mustard on hand, but I am sure they would have made the sauce even better. Also, I did increase the brown sugar, as recommended by others. Wonderful recipe, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a good base for a BBQ sauce. I found it to be too tangy & too sweet. I added quite a few things to it. Just to make it to my family style. I added fresh minced garlic, cracked black pepper, a little bit of coffee, a splash of red wine, a squeeze of grape jelly (I know! But it is good!) and a package of Lipton's Mushroom Onion soup mix. It toned it down and gave it a little more depth. While these flavors would seem to overwhelm and be crazy they come together nicely. Thanks for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Skipped the Worcestershire sauce, and it still comes out amazing! Super easy and very flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful quick and easy sauce. Brown Sauce is an english ketchup-like sauce. I think its similar to brown sauce by Heinz. It's a litte too much vinegar, so I will try with the molasses the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This seems really easy but...What is brown sauce? I increased to 1/2 cup brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of prepared bbq sauce (weird since the point was to make bbq sauce but I'll put it into the same category as making yogurt--you need yogurt to make yogurt). I also didn't have dry mustard so I put in about a tablespoon of yellow mustard. I eliminated worcestershire sauce because I was out but I think I would use it next time. It turned out sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States