Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The batter tastes just like yellow cake. I think this recipe and others like it are rating poor because of the "Self Rising" flower is not being used. Add 3 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to the "All Purpose" or "Cake" flour. Follow the recipe and pour the milk in slowly. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This turned out okay for use despite the other reviews. I made mini cupcakes in my mini muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delightful homemade easy cake. Dense? Of course - from scratch, just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made this recipe into cupcakes, and took them to a picnic. They were devoured! My nieces and nephews wanted more, and my kids ate the remaining 4 cupcakes in our fridge as soon as we got home! I used AP flour and added the baking powder and salt as another reviewer suggested. That was the only change though. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This turned out perfectly, and tasted just like yellow cake from a box. I did use 3 eggs based on others' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Not sure what everyones problem is with this recipe, its just plain simple. Follow the directions, use the correct flour and bake. Came out perfect, watch the shorting since if you add too much it will be super moist and soft!!!(don't talk on the phone while measuring) ha-ha thanks for the quick recipe. Add buttercream frosting and you have one perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I have been looking for a good "from scratch" recipe to make fresh fruit cake. After trying several, this is the one. Just pour the fresh fruit on top and bake. The fruit mostly settles to the bottom, but some remains through the cake.It did take 35 minutes to bake, but it is worth the wait. I am a hobbyist cook, otherwise, I cook and my wife cleans up after me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Perfect yellow cake. Simple and most importantly the kids loved it. I topped it with butter cream icing for my son's B-day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I just made this recipe and it is great! Because I didn't have the self rising flour, I used all purpose flour and added 3 teaspoons of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt.. Better than the box.. Very moist and soft too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tastet41
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipes is great, I am now making my third one for the weekend. The first one went so fast it was surprising. I must say that I used the 3 egg recommendation and it work very well. I will use this for now on when I need to make a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastet41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States