Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I give this 4 stars on the condition that you add an additional egg. I mixed this recipe and then read the reviews. Two stars! Oh no! I looked at some other recipes and I didn't see much difference except maybe more eggs, so I added another egg to the batter. It took a little over 35 minutes to finish baking, but I ended up with a cake that tastes just like it came out of a box - which is what this is supposed to emulate. My guess is that the other reviewers didn't use self-rising flour. Remember the recipe for self-rising flour is 1 cup AP flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt. Maybe the difference was the egg: anyway I got exactly what was advertised - within 5 minutes anyway. Later... I used the exact recipe this time (only 2 eggs) and it turned out as before - just as light and fluffy as a box cake. The cook time is still 35 minutes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The batter tastes just like yellow cake. I think this recipe and others like it are rating poor because of the "Self Rising" flower is not being used. Add 3 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to the "All Purpose" or "Cake" flour. Follow the recipe and pour the milk in slowly. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I did as other suggested(using 3 eggs), cake came out just good, the 2nd time I added 1 box of instant vanilla pudding to the dry ingredents, 3 eggs, and 1/4 cup of sour cream and it was fantastic. I used two 9in pans, cut each cake in half, making 4 layers with frosting between each. It was SO GOOD my mother asked for the recipe and she's a "old school" baker, everything she makes is from scratch and always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Not very tasty, and does not make good cupcakes. I have my own bakery business and I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
***IMPORTANT NOTE!*** Simply use self- rising flour, follow the instructions, and don't beat the batter too much! I was a bit dubious about even trying this recipe, seeing so many conflicting reviews from other users. Despite my doubts, we tried it. And it turned out great!! All 7 kids loved 'em (we made cupcakes with Hershey cocoa frosting). So, I was satisfied. :) Simply follow simple directions, and have a simply delectable treat! :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Made this recipe twice- once exactly as written and second time substituting butter for the shortening and adding about 1/4t salt (1/2t if using unsalted butter)...much tastier this way! Changed the procedure as well after reading some articles and other reviews on the website. First make sure butter, eggs and milk are all room temp. Sift together flour, sugar and salt, twice if you have the time. Combine all wet ingredients except butter. Whip up butter really well on its own. Then alternate dry and wet when adding to butter, taking care not to overmix at this stage. I added choc chips and made cupcakes, came out great- really tender and moist- and actually tasted even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe following DANHARGRAVE'S recommendations. I only used 2 eggs and alternated adding the liquid and the flour. The cake was light and fluffy and a good substitute for a yellow cake mix. The cook time in a glass pan was around 32 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
The cake was very heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made this recipe into cupcakes, and took them to a picnic. They were devoured! My nieces and nephews wanted more, and my kids ate the remaining 4 cupcakes in our fridge as soon as we got home! I used AP flour and added the baking powder and salt as another reviewer suggested. That was the only change though. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This turned out perfectly, and tasted just like yellow cake from a box. I did use 3 eggs based on others' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States