Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Perfect yellow cake. Simple and most importantly the kids loved it. I topped it with butter cream icing for my son's B-day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I had changed a little with this recipe, I added a little baking powder, and some vanilla. I also used half shortening and half butter. It still did not help the bland taste. I do not reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melwilliams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The batter tastes just like yellow cake. I think this recipe and others like it are rating poor because of the "Self Rising" flower is not being used. Add 3 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to the "All Purpose" or "Cake" flour. Follow the recipe and pour the milk in slowly. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I have been looking for a good "from scratch" recipe to make fresh fruit cake. After trying several, this is the one. Just pour the fresh fruit on top and bake. The fruit mostly settles to the bottom, but some remains through the cake.It did take 35 minutes to bake, but it is worth the wait. I am a hobbyist cook, otherwise, I cook and my wife cleans up after me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Very good flavor, crumb texture not as fine as box cake. I'm not much of a baker, but it saved me a trip to market for a box cake. My husband thought it was great and I would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Not sure what everyones problem is with this recipe, its just plain simple. Follow the directions, use the correct flour and bake. Came out perfect, watch the shorting since if you add too much it will be super moist and soft!!!(don't talk on the phone while measuring) ha-ha thanks for the quick recipe. Add buttercream frosting and you have one perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delightful homemade easy cake. Dense? Of course - from scratch, just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
The cake came out ok, I added the baking powder because I didn't have self rising flour, and it came out good. But to me it didn't taste like a yellow cake, but more as of a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This turned out perfectly, and tasted just like yellow cake from a box. I did use 3 eggs based on others' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe was really awful. I made no changes and it just didn't come out well. Please do not make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States