Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I just made this recipe and it is great! Because I didn't have the self rising flour, I used all purpose flour and added 3 teaspoons of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt.. Better than the box.. Very moist and soft too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Made this recipe twice- once exactly as written and second time substituting butter for the shortening and adding about 1/4t salt (1/2t if using unsalted butter)...much tastier this way! Changed the procedure as well after reading some articles and other reviews on the website. First make sure butter, eggs and milk are all room temp. Sift together flour, sugar and salt, twice if you have the time. Combine all wet ingredients except butter. Whip up butter really well on its own. Then alternate dry and wet when adding to butter, taking care not to overmix at this stage. I added choc chips and made cupcakes, came out great- really tender and moist- and actually tasted even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I did as other suggested(using 3 eggs), cake came out just good, the 2nd time I added 1 box of instant vanilla pudding to the dry ingredents, 3 eggs, and 1/4 cup of sour cream and it was fantastic. I used two 9in pans, cut each cake in half, making 4 layers with frosting between each. It was SO GOOD my mother asked for the recipe and she's a "old school" baker, everything she makes is from scratch and always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
good substitute. Followed other advice and used 3 eggs instead. Not heavy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Just made this cake. Have not tasted it yet but have cooked and baked for many years. It seems this cake is more like an old fashioned cake, not a ready mix (Box Cake). That is not bad, but it will not be light and fluffy. Probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The top is really nice and crusty, and the inside is soft... not bad... I did make sure my ingredients were room temp, and beat for a really long time after each addition of ingredients. Also, I used less sugar... (half as much as flour... 1cup flour to 1/2 cup sugar) and it was plenty sweet for me. Also replaced shortening with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
***IMPORTANT NOTE!*** Simply use self- rising flour, follow the instructions, and don't beat the batter too much! I was a bit dubious about even trying this recipe, seeing so many conflicting reviews from other users. Despite my doubts, we tried it. And it turned out great!! All 7 kids loved 'em (we made cupcakes with Hershey cocoa frosting). So, I was satisfied. :) Simply follow simple directions, and have a simply delectable treat! :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I agree this was a heavier cake, and had a little baking soda taste to it (???), but it wasn't bad. I used it for a jello cake and took it to a pot luck. No left overs, so I guess that says something! Good recipe when you don't want to go buy a box cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This cake had a good taste, but it was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Perfect yellow cake. Simple and most importantly the kids loved it. I topped it with butter cream icing for my son's B-day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States