Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
What a wonderful cake!! I was making a pineapple upside-down cake, and couldn't get to the store for boxed pineapple mix. I found this recipe, and added 3/4 cups pineapple juice to the mix, decreasing the milk to 3/4 cup. It took about 40 min to bake, and was AMAZING. I'll be making this again without the pineapple, and probably keep the milk at 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups just to keep it extra moist. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I added 1-1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe and it was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful and easy cake recipe, I hope I won't ever have to turn to boxed mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
When I cooked this cake it turned out heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as the base cake to make the "Creamy Orange Cake" recipe on A/R. I wanted to find a quick "from scratch" recipe because I scaled it to 1/2 a recipe and made a 9 inch cake. This cake was perfect for that! I am sure I will at LEAST use this recipe as a base for poke cakes in the future. I only used 1/2 c of sugar (a little less than the 3/4 it would have been for half of the full recipe) I also may try to use applesauce in place of shortening to lighten it up. I can't vouch for this cake 'stand alone' as it was doused with jello, but it certainly did serve my purpose well! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipe was okay, but me and my friend tweaked it a little bit for cupcakes. Because it was so heavy and thick the first time, we used a 1/2 stick of butter instead of shortening, and substituted 2 egg white for the eggs, and beat them separately, and folded it into the mixture at the final step. This resulted in really light, fluffy cupcakes. Just make sure not to overfill them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
An absolutely delightful, soft, fluffy cake. Beware - do not use for cupcakes, allthough most reviewers have had success, I found the cake was simply too light and fluffy, and when we try to remove the paper the cake just disintegrated. This is the only recipe I use for a standard cake pan, however and I would challenge anyone to find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I USED IT FOR CUPCAKES. DIDN'T RISE WELL AT ALL, VERY HEAVY, HARD, AND TASTED MORE LIKE A BLAN BISCUT. I FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS AS FOLLOWED. OVERALL DISLIKED VERY MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This recipe is exactly as advertised. It is a quick, easy recipe which is almost identical to the results attained with a box mix. The texture and color of this cake are fantastic. For my personal tastes, the cake was a wee bit bland--something fairly easy to remedy. Others, however, thought the taste was perfect. Regardless, I will make this cake again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The cake was very easy and quick. I used butter instead of shortening, and we loved the results - it was delicious. I frosted it with the Decorator Frosting from this website. Also, I cut the recipe in half and did one 9-inch round cake layer, because I know I'll eat the whole thing no matter how much I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipes was so simple and tastes great! I really think the bad reviews are because people used plain flour. I also used three eggs instead of two. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tastet41
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipes is great, I am now making my third one for the weekend. The first one went so fast it was surprising. I must say that I used the 3 egg recommendation and it work very well. I will use this for now on when I need to make a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastet41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States