Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good cake! I added an extra egg. I didn't have self rising flour, so I sifted cake flour, a pinch of salt (1/2 tsp) and 3 tsp of baking powder. I also used butter flavor shortening. Yummmmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good but mine turned out very dry?? Not sure if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This went together in no time; I was very pleased with the resulting cake, and a bit surprised at how (too, too) easy it is to prepare that many calories' worth of temptation for just the two of us. Could spell trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
LOVED THIS RECIPE..Made it with All Purpose flour and added baking power, I did use butter and 3 eggs... EVERYONE LOVED IT.. Cake was gone as soon as it was cut..Went great with wedding cake icing by chayes100..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Used this to make a Honey bun cake with since I didn't have a yellow cake mix box handy. I followed another reviewers advice and used a stick of butter (no shortening) and added an extra egg (honey bun cake calls for 4 but only used the 3). Also followed the recipe using milk and omitted the oil from my recipe for the Honey Bun Cake. Ended up having the best one I've ever made. Extremely moist. Don't think I'll ever use a box mix for it again. Cake was gone in less than a day. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent!...thanks for sharing. I did the AP flour with baking powder as well as an extra egg. I also doubled the vanilla and snuck in a tad of almond and coconut extract...about 1/8 teaspoon of each. Super moist cake...one of my new favorite recipes. As a previous reviewer said...follow simple directions. Impossible for the cake to flop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VegasFem
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Hopefully, the photo I took of the cupcakes I made from this gets accepted so that you can all see the lovely results. The only changes I made to the recipe were a stick of unsalted butter (instead of shortening), 1/4 tsp salt, evaporated milk (instead of reg. milk) and 1 tsp of baking soda (as I used all-purpose flour instead of self-rising). I baked these for just 20 min; they are glistening and moist and have a gorgeous color. Not sure what everyone else has been doing wrong, but perhaps they should stay away from baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My kids loved it. thats why Im giving it 4 stars. I added the extra egg, but I used (salted)Butter. Since I am not a salt eater, this combined with the SR flour made it a little intense. I will use unsalted next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
What a wonderful cake!! I was making a pineapple upside-down cake, and couldn't get to the store for boxed pineapple mix. I found this recipe, and added 3/4 cups pineapple juice to the mix, decreasing the milk to 3/4 cup. It took about 40 min to bake, and was AMAZING. I'll be making this again without the pineapple, and probably keep the milk at 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups just to keep it extra moist. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I added 1-1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe and it was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful and easy cake recipe, I hope I won't ever have to turn to boxed mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
When I cooked this cake it turned out heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States