Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I'm proof of why this got such bad reviews! I used all purpose flour and it turned out horribly! It was dense, tasteless, and I couldn't swallow it. I read the review and found out how to turn my flour to self-rising, I tossed out the first batch and remade it the way it was suggested. Best ever! Yellow cake is my favorite, it wasn't as yellow as I wanted it so I added 15 drops of yellow food coloring. And topped it with home-made chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Disappointed with this one. Made cupcakes, and thought they turned out heavy and dry. I did use 3 eggs per OP suggestions. Taste was at best OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This cake tastes nothing like boxed yellow cake. I cant seem to find a good yellow cake receipe. I was worried right after I made it because even though the batter tastes alright it didnt look yellow at all which just didnt seem normal. When it came out of the oven it was flat and VERY dry. It reminded me of a sponge cake because it was so dry and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The first time I tried this recipe I added an extra egg, like the reviews suggested. The cake turned out semi-fluffy with good flavor, but the layers were very thin. The next attempt I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! Light, fluffy and wonderful flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Valley, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Was fine.I made it with a whipped cream frosting and it went off alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used this cake as a base for upside down pecan coffee cake. The result was not fluffy as others described it, but rather dense. I hesitate to say that this is a bad thing because the buttery density is actually quite delicious with the pecan/brown sugar topping. I will definitely use this recipe again. I will use it as written for a dense, simple butter cake,and if I want something lighter to frost, I will add a pinch more baking powder and an extra egg white. This is a good basic recipe that I can play with. I absolutely LOVE that it calls for self-rise flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I have to admit that I don't make cakes from scratch. However, a few months ago, I needed a b-day cake in a hurry and did not want to go to the store yet again that day. So I found this recipe and made it. The kids loved it!! Even for a no scratch cake baker like me it turned out great!!!Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I added one egg after reading reviews. Also used all purpose flour and added 3 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Made perfect cupcakes and I will never look for another yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good cake! I added an extra egg. I didn't have self rising flour, so I sifted cake flour, a pinch of salt (1/2 tsp) and 3 tsp of baking powder. I also used butter flavor shortening. Yummmmm...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good but mine turned out very dry?? Not sure if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States