Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is okay (I made it as-is) but nothing to rave about at all. It's not very flavorful and needs a lot of icing to make up for the lackluster center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
not impressed. honestly the boxed mixes are easier and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
First off, I am not a fan of home made cakes. I find them too dense. I made this cake and it wasn't as dense as most of the other homemade cakes I have had in the past. But it was far from fluffy. It's flavor was good, but texture wasn't my favorite. i won't make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was very easy to make and came out delicious and fluffy. I wouldn't say it's exactly like a box-mix yellow cake, but it is quite good. I did follow the advice of the other commenters and added a third egg, plus baking powder and salt to my flour. I used two 8-inch pans, as that's all I have right now, and the cooking time was 35 minutes exactly. I would definitely make this again. It's an excellent recipe for making a quick and easy cake with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I just finished making this recipe- and it was excellent! I made 2 dozen muffins instead of a cake, and they turned out divine. I think the reason most reviewers are not getting the best results is due tot he fact that they're not really doing the 'self-rising flour' themselves. It's really easy, there are suggestions on doing self rising flour in the other comments. Aside from that, this recipe was a dream- spongey, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This did not turn out as I hoped. It was floury. it was very heavy also..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This cake wasn't very moist and it was pretty dense. It tasted okay. It wasn't as good as a box yellow cake mix. I definitely used sel-rising flour, so that wasn't the problem. I used three eggs based on other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very bland and extremely dense, almost like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheMadBaker313
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These cupcakes are don't require a ton of ingredients (which I like) and are easy to make. I substituted butter for the shortening to make them slightly healthier, used 3 eggs, and I did use AP flour & added 3 tsp baking powder in place of the self-rising flour. The texture of the cupcakes is moist, but a little dry around the edges (that could just be my oven baking them too fast around the edges). They do taste VERY similar to boxed cake mix which is what I was looking for. Next time, I may add a little more vanilla extract juts to give them a little more vanilla flavor. Bake time for the cupcakes was 18 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very good. I made my own self rising flour as well. If you want to make cupcakes out of these make sure you make 24 of them. I made 12 and they were huge and took forever to bake. Didn't look as appealing as they should have. I guess everyone had a failed experiment now and then. They tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States