Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by moiralong
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was a terrific base. I made my own self-rising flour (2 cups all-purpose flour, 3 tsps baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt). As for additional ingredients to the ones listed in the original, I added an extra egg, a packet of sugar-free butterscotch pudding, and 1/4 c light sour cream. It turned out an amazing texture and flavor! I went all out with chocolate frosting and whoppers on top for Mother's Day, but this would be equally good with just cool whip or homemade whipped cream. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moiralong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was great! I did add one more egg and used butter vs shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
i increased the eggs by one...otherwise used recipe as written. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I loved it and thought it was great. I made it into 6 jumbo muffins, crumbled it into bowl and topped it with fresh sliced strawberries mixed with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very good . The family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindagwynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Deming, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I tried this last night for a quick snack for my mom, she loved it. I used podwered sugar sifed over it since i did not want to make iceing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
loved it turned out great was a bit small since i divided so i might double it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was okay, but not what I would call "really good". Now I can at least say that I tried it, but I wouldn't use this recipe again. There are a few other Yellow Cake recipes that I'll try for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w3leon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Cake came out moist. Taste very good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These were not to my liking! I followed recipe exactly (with self rising flour) except I did use 3 eggs instead of 2. They had no taste--even my 3 year old wouldn't eat them. Will definitely go with the box next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States