Thirty Minute Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is really really good. I skip the water, just spread the canned soup over the top. So inexpensive and simple to fix. So much flavor too. My mom use to make this when I was growing up. We called it cabbage casserole. I still make it. I bake mine in the oven. After browning the meat and cooking the onion, mix in chopped cabbage, dump into large casserole dish and cover with undiluted soup, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover with aluminum foil. Bake at 350 for about 30 min. Yumm-O! Tastes like cabbage rolls without all the fuss. Great with a crusty french bread and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Super, super simple! I used ground turkey instead of beef to make it lowfat, and pre-shredded cabbage to save even more time. Loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
nice hearty meal for a very cold night. I made a few changes tho, as others suggested. I added chili powder and garlic (will use something spicier next time tho) and instead of tomato soup, I used stewed tomatoes and omitted the water. I simmered it uncovered for the 20 minutes to help evaporate some of the juices. I will make again....especially on these cold Canadian winter nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This dish was good especially considering how quick, easy, healthy, and inexpensive it is. I'm embarrassed to say it but my husband and I finished the whole pot in one night - yikes! But it's so healthy. I did add some garlic while I browned the beef and then drained and rinsed the beef with hot tap water after it was done to get rid of the excess fat. (I do this all the time and you can't tell the difference). I added a few shakes of hot chili powder, and also a few squirts of ketchup for some added flavor and a touch of "sweetness." I did not use what I felt was a whole medium sized head of cabbage. I used about one-half and thought it was plenty. Will definitely make again - probably at least once a week! For those that won't use tomato soup becuse they don't like it. Try it! My husband doesn't like it as soup either but likes it in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Good and easy meal. Thanks to other reviewers, I too added a couple dashes of chili powder, apprx 1/2 TBLS brown sugar and a few squirts of ketchup, which definately added taste that I think it would have otherwise lacked. I used apprx 1 cup leftover rice (stirred right into the cabbage mix) and also, used the pre-shredded coleslaw cabbage, which saves on chopping time. Overall, tasty and easy meal, which I will make again when all the time I have is 30 minutes!! Thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was weak on the flavor and too watery (i even used less than recommended). We ate it again the next day and it was surprisingly better, like potato salad. Next time I'll make it a day ahead and try eating it on a roll like sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
All you "Weight Watchers" out there! This recipe's a real keeper. I used 1 1/2 # of 85% ground beef instead of 1# and 1 can of tomato soup. I used about 1/2 cup water and added garlic and onion powder. Lots of room to get creative with seasonings. The whole recipe was about 36 points, delicious, fast and easy. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I would agree that this is very fast, easy and inexpensive. I would also agree with other reviewers that this recipe is rather bland. I added garlic when the beef was cooking and I added additional salt at the table to give it more flavor. I also thought it was too soupy. I would recommend less water. I doubt that I will make this again or if I do, I would probably add rice to try to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Yum. I can not believe this turned out so good. I changed it up a little. Cooked the onions with a little brown sugar. Added meat back to the pan, seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, ketchup and creole seasoning. Added chopped cabbage to pan stirred to coat with meat mixture, topped with soup and added a cup of cooked rice, covered and let simmer for 20 to 30 minutes. Awesome. Just awesome. Should be called "un" stuffed cabbage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Everyone just loved this thirty min. meal including the 2 teens i have. It was so easy and so quick, glad i ran into this recipe, it will get used many times i'm sure. Faith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States