Thirty Minute Cocoa Cake With Quick Cocoa Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This cake is a big hit at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foyil, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sperry, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This review is for the frosting only. I used cocoa nut oil instead of butter, used dark cocoa powder, cut the powdered sugar down to 2 1/2cups, and only cooked it about a min after it came to a boil. It was super easy to make and tasted great. Also, when it cooled it made a lovely glaze on the top of the cake. Pretty to look at and yummy! I'm definitely making this my quick, go to chocolate frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisanmat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is flippen unbelievable!! I followed the cake to a T but added heavy whipping cream instead of milk for the frosting, Yep extra calories but oh so worth it!! cant wait for the hubby to try some! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made this cake at 2 p.m. for a 5 p.m. christmas dinner today...Substituted coffee for water and soiur cream for buttermilk. Omitted cinnamon and added 2 tsp. vanilla, as well as 1/2 tsp. salt- I used unsalted butter. I boiled the coffee, butter and cocoa to melt butter, then cooled a bit and whisked in eggs, sour cream and dry ingredients- right in the saucepan. Before baking, I topped the batter with 1 c. chocolate chips. After it came out of the oven and cooled a bit, I topped with a sour cream/chocolate frosting (12 oz. melted semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 tsp. vanilla), then sprinkled homemade brown sugar/cinnamon struessel topping I made in 15 min. on a cookie sheet and broke into bits. Chilled the cake until dessert time and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Needs to cook 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Good cake. My first from scratch. I would put more chocolate into the batter; the cake was moist and otherwise a big hit. I served it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Love it! If you want a quick chocolate cake, this is it! I didn't have buttermilk so I used sour milk. Great recipe. Especially for a homemade cake. I didn't put nuts in the topping but it didn't really need it. Plus if the frosting is to runny poor it on the cake then stick it in the frig for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is a great cake and my family has followed this exact recipe since the 50's. The only thing we do differently is bake it in a jelly roll pan, I think it's 10X15, and it only takes 20 minutes to bake. It truly is a fast cake, and VERY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Love this quick and easy cake. I also poked hokes in it beofre adding frosting and it was moist and wonderful. Have made twice now and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This cake was 'da bomb'! I made two substitutions: I replaced one cup of flour with one cup of whole wheat pastry flour & I replaced one cup of sugar with one cup of Splenda for baking. It baked for 40 minutes and disappeared in about the same amount of time! It was quick and easy; just follow the directions to the letter, baking for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States