Thirty Minute Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
True, this makes a good, quick chili as is, hence the 4*. But for me, what makes it a 5* recipe is subbing black beans for the kidney beans (juice and all) and---most importantly---throwing in a 15-oz. can of Bush's baked beans, which extends the meal and adds a nice hint of sweetness. You can also add 1/2-can of water if you like your chili a little thinner. This has been my go-to chili recipe for over 15 years, and everyone begs me for the recipe. (Lawry's is our personal favorite packaged seasoning.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great recipe! This was incredibly easy to make and inexpensive. I would have preferred to have bought organic, grass-fed, antiobiotic-free beef, but I didn't have the $. Instead of using pre-made chili seasoning mix, I just used my own mixture of cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, salt, and pepper. I'll be having it with homemade cornbread tomorrow night! And maybe some collard greens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Both my husband and I liked this recipe as is - that is truly rare :). Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very quick and easy. There wasn't enough liquid for us, so I added a 1/2 can of beef broth. Also, the diced tomatoes had green chiles and onions. Added a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese and served with cornbread. My son and I loved it. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was my first time making chili and I have to say, it was great. I did a little tweaking on it to make it my own and voila, it's chili! With just a shake or two of chipotle and some cayenne it is fit for my fire loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Quick and easy recipe. I followed the recipe and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leachman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
It was ok. It was very easy. Very quick to make. If I were to make it again I would probably add some peppers in it to bring out the flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
All I can say is yes yes yes! I use turkey instead of ground meat and it always hits the spot. A great dish to make after a long day at work when you want something quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Real basic recipe but good start to work from. I substituted the ground beef for hot italian sausage. It tasted great. I also added a lot of spices , garlic and onion. In the end it was quick to make and tasted great. I think without adding stuff though it would be quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States