Thirty Day Friendship Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent! Made for a family dinner. Just like my Grandmaw use to make for my birthday. You can find the - must have- Starter Recipe by HBIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this recipe today and it made 3 cakes. I used 6 small bundt pans for one of the recipes. On the third cake I used a chocolate butter cakemix, 3 tablespoons hersheys choclate, 2/3 cup oil, 4 eggs, 2 cups toasted pecans, 1 cup rasina, 1 pkg frozen cocanut,1/4 cup brandy, 1/3 of the fruit. I glazed it with simple syrup with brandy in it. I had enouth fruit to add a little more that 2 cups in each cake. Probably because I added extra cherries and dried apricots to my starter. The recipe if very forgiving and takes change well. freezes great. Everyone loves this fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this cake in a Wilson individual 6 section Snow man cake pan. Came out great. Going to make again for Christmas & wrap each one in a small Christmas wrap to give out to friends & family. Got 18 pieces from one cake. I gave my Sister one piece the first time I made it & she said I did not give her enough. She loved it. This cake is a big hit. Very moist. You do not need any topping for this cake. I also froze a lot of the pieces & took out one piece at a time when I wanted to eat one. Again, cake was great. Never new it was frozen. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I've made it for years, and always keep a starter in my freezer. I'm on day 10 today of my cakes, they are perfect for holiday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Babe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Photo by amanda
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
yes i have made this cake for years i just got finshed with one and the are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I was given a starter which was put in the refrigerator over night and I started adding the fruit that night. I added the cherries this morning and I know you are not suppose to put the starter in the refrigerator. The mixture looks good and I am in the last 10 days. Should I be worried?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Help! I made the starter over a month ago, and then got to Day Ten (adding the pineapple). The mixture is on my counter in a glass bowl with foil on top. I am not sure what happened, but yesterday when I went to stir it, there were lil mold spores on top. I can't imagine that this is okay? I am a month and a half into this recipe and now I have to throw my cake out. Does anyone know what I may have done wrong? I am willing to give this cake another shot but I don't want to make the same mistake again. My dad has talked about this cake for years (his grandmother use to make it) so I am trying to make him one. I'm so sad that my first attempt was ruined and I have no idea what went wrong. The only thing I can think of is that I used canned pineapple in heavy syrup and not canned pineapple in juice. Does anyone have some advice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made these cakes for years at Christmas and everyone loves them. I have always used a bundt pan and my recipe makes 4 cakes. I have never used raisins, nuts or coconut and don't think I would change now, perfect the way it is. I'm a little confused about some of the remarks here concerning the starter and one person said something about 50 days. I have always started it with the pineapple, sugar and brandy, add the other fruit and sugar every 10 days and make cakes on day 30. I also use apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this cake in a Bundt pan using the brandied fruit. It turned out awesome! I'm sure the cake will turn out just as good using the properly prepared fruit. I did adjust the cake recipe using a butterscotch pudding with the yellow cake mix instead of the vanilla pudding. My next endeavor will be with a spice cake mix and the vanilla pudding powder. I also drizzled a 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar mixed with 2 teaspoons of water on the the cake for a simple glaze while the cake was still warm. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have 4 cups of the starter and did not have the recipe. Very happy to have found it on allrecipes.com. Thank you Yvonne! I only had 4 cups of the liquid when I drained the fruit, and the recipe stated I should have 6 cups, keep 1 for me to start it again, and 2 to give away, that is 6 cups. I drained the cherry juice, as it did not state to use the juice as it did with the pineapples. My mom went to be with Jesus in 2006, and I just got around to using her starter, which was kept in the refridgerator in a glass jar. The cakes came out yummy. Are you suppose to use the cherry juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States