Thirty Day Friendship Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Hello! Have loved this recipe since the 1990's. It is delicious! My old dot matrix printer recipe calls for 2.5 cups sugar going in with the pineapple, not 1/2 cup, so I tried 1.5 cups & the cake was great! I do have a ??: Has anyone proved that the frozen starter will actually ferment the next batch? I have frozen one starter sitting out now with 1/2 cup sugar to check to see if will "work". Any ideas on how to tell if working. I do not want to waste the ingredients on frozen starter if will not work. Does anyone get answers to their questions from this website? If you know Please Advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! I have made it with different items a few times... such as using "Coconut Rum" in the starter.. adding some "Chambord" (raspberry liqueur) to the starter as well. Instead of walnuts, I use pecans! Instead of "vanilla pudding mix" I used "banana cream pudding mix"!! I usually use a Bundt pan and will crush some pecans in the pan before adding the batter. It makes a wonderful birthday cake as well.. which I am making one right now!! I just wonder why this time that I was making the starter I had a lot of fruit flies... that has never happened and it doesn't make sense since I leave the top sealed with plastic wrap and a plate over that. Anybody else ever had this problem and how do you get rid of the pests? Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Just made this yesterday. I accidentally added glacé cherries, instead of maraschino, but the cake turned out great! I added coconut to one batch, and coconut and raisins to the other. I baked it in small loaf pans for 20 minutes at 325, and got 16 small loaves of each. I will include some of these mini loaves in Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
When I first made this. Fruit cake friends turned up their noses. Ugh fruit cake. But once they tasted it they were hooked. Unlike any other fruit cake you have ever eaten and No rubbery fruit. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent! Made for a family dinner. Just like my Grandmaw use to make for my birthday. You can find the - must have- Starter Recipe by HBIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this recipe today and it made 3 cakes. I used 6 small bundt pans for one of the recipes. On the third cake I used a chocolate butter cakemix, 3 tablespoons hersheys choclate, 2/3 cup oil, 4 eggs, 2 cups toasted pecans, 1 cup rasina, 1 pkg frozen cocanut,1/4 cup brandy, 1/3 of the fruit. I glazed it with simple syrup with brandy in it. I had enouth fruit to add a little more that 2 cups in each cake. Probably because I added extra cherries and dried apricots to my starter. The recipe if very forgiving and takes change well. freezes great. Everyone loves this fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this cake in a Wilson individual 6 section Snow man cake pan. Came out great. Going to make again for Christmas & wrap each one in a small Christmas wrap to give out to friends & family. Got 18 pieces from one cake. I gave my Sister one piece the first time I made it & she said I did not give her enough. She loved it. This cake is a big hit. Very moist. You do not need any topping for this cake. I also froze a lot of the pieces & took out one piece at a time when I wanted to eat one. Again, cake was great. Never new it was frozen. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I've made it for years, and always keep a starter in my freezer. I'm on day 10 today of my cakes, they are perfect for holiday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Blessedandhighlyfavored A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Photo by amanda
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
yes i have made this cake for years i just got finshed with one and the are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States