Thin Mint Green Monster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is delicious and refreshing. If you're new to green monster smoothies, it's an experience, but if you're familiar with them you'll love it! Reminds you of a healthy version of a Girl Scout cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Yummy! I omitted the mint extract and added more mint - it was still minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Very good. I used low-sugar cacao powder instead of cacao seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Amazing!!! I used almond milk instead of coconut as it's all I had, and mini chocolate chips instead of cacao, still delicious. After my first try I've been adding a lot more spinach, maybe three fistfuls. I would also add a caveat about the amount of mint extract--I used Adam's brand, which is apparently more concentrated than others, I ended up having to double the recipe to cut the extreme mint (no hardship there, just a headsup to start small and add more extract if needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Delish! I swapped coconut water for the coconut milk, fresh collard greens for the spinach, dark cocoa powder for the cacao seeds, 2 teaspoons sugar for the stevia, and added 10-15 extra mint leaves and left out the extract. I also just chilled the banana while preparing the other ingredients and tossed in a couple ice cubes because I was in a hurry. My sister added 2% milk to hers to dilute it. We both loved it. You can't taste the collard greens, but I think the bitterness of fresh greens subtly enhances the chocolate taste. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made as is and it really did taste like Thin Mints. Next time I would like to decrease the peppermint extract and also use peppermint herb not spearmint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Except for subbing regular milk for the coconut milk, I made the recipe as listed but the mint was too overpowering. I tried fixing it by adding more water and spinach and then by adding a scoop of chocolate protein powder. It was still too strong. I'll try it again, but I'll sub fresh mint for the mint extract, or only put a very tiny amount of extract in. UPDATE (7/16/214): I made this again, only this time I doubled the use of fresh mint and didn't use any mint extract at all. It was much better this time, so I increased my initial rating. Still, as I wouldn't make the recipe as listed again, I am rating this as a 3 (my modified version was more like a 4, but the original version was a 1).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States