Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These tasted Exactly like GS cookies. I loved them. I did have a little problem getting the chocolate to stick to the crackers. I will work on this.I made these with Jr. Mints. They melted just fine. SOOO Goodd! Thank you Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The fact that this recipe is as simple as it is just blows my mind I love it. In fact the reviewer who said "monkeys could make this" is probably right. I can't say that these are my favorite cookies but they were a huge hit with my Mom and Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made these with light cocoa candy melts (melted in microwave) and Ritz Hint of Salt crackers and they were great. I've used both peppermint and just "mint" extract (I didn't realize there was more than one type until I got the second bottle home). Both were good, but not sure which is closer to actual Thin Mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I think Girl Scouts have changed their think mint recipe and these DELICIOS crackers taste just like thin mints USED to. these are wonderful. I didn't have extract so I used andes peppermint chips that I bought on close out somewhere after I had melted bittersweet chocolate in double broiler. I used both crackers and nilla wafers. I personally much preferred the ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I first made these cookies from a Nabisco cookbook. The party crowd loved them. So easy! The original recipe suggested adding crushed candy cane on top before the cool. Adds a nice festive decoration. I plan on making them again for both a cookie exchange party and our holiday gathering. You should try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these just like the recipe says except I melted the chips in the microwave and they are great!! I went a little heavy on the chocolate and they came out very rich, so next time, I will make sure there is a thin layer of chocolate coating. I topped with crushed candy canes and my daughters loved them even more. They set in the freezer in just about 15 minutes or so. Will make a nice treat to give out at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These are not just like the Girl Scout cookies as Kim suggests. These are FAR better!! They have a crisp to them that you can't get in the GirlScout kind. I make these every year with my grandkids. Excellent recipe. I also do not add the peppermint extract until after the chocolate has melted. Otherwise these are hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I make these every year. They are a hit. Try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momdepue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought I had reviewed this when I first made this two years ago. Huh. I make two different kinds of this Girl Scout cookie fake-out. I do one batch with the Ritz crackers and one batch with chocolate cookie wafers. Both are hot ticket items on my cookie platter. I would suggest that you don't use a cheap cracker, you'll pay for it later. And splurge if you can for a good chocolate and peppermint extract. Watkins is pretty good. NOTE: You can find chocolate wafer cookies on your grocery store's cookie isle, usually on the top shelf. Want to make this easy to get in and out of the chocolate? Use a fork with thin tines that will help a little of the chocolate drip off before setting to cool on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I was making these for a Christmas and finely ground candy canes in a food processor, then i added the candy canes to the melted chocolate, it was perfect, nice and minty with a little crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzana Dasilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States