Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made these with light cocoa candy melts (melted in microwave) and Ritz Hint of Salt crackers and they were great. I've used both peppermint and just "mint" extract (I didn't realize there was more than one type until I got the second bottle home). Both were good, but not sure which is closer to actual Thin Mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I think Girl Scouts have changed their think mint recipe and these DELICIOS crackers taste just like thin mints USED to. these are wonderful. I didn't have extract so I used andes peppermint chips that I bought on close out somewhere after I had melted bittersweet chocolate in double broiler. I used both crackers and nilla wafers. I personally much preferred the ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I first made these cookies from a Nabisco cookbook. The party crowd loved them. So easy! The original recipe suggested adding crushed candy cane on top before the cool. Adds a nice festive decoration. I plan on making them again for both a cookie exchange party and our holiday gathering. You should try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these just like the recipe says except I melted the chips in the microwave and they are great!! I went a little heavy on the chocolate and they came out very rich, so next time, I will make sure there is a thin layer of chocolate coating. I topped with crushed candy canes and my daughters loved them even more. They set in the freezer in just about 15 minutes or so. Will make a nice treat to give out at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These are not just like the Girl Scout cookies as Kim suggests. These are FAR better!! They have a crisp to them that you can't get in the GirlScout kind. I make these every year with my grandkids. Excellent recipe. I also do not add the peppermint extract until after the chocolate has melted. Otherwise these are hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I make these every year. They are a hit. Try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momdepue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought I had reviewed this when I first made this two years ago. Huh. I make two different kinds of this Girl Scout cookie fake-out. I do one batch with the Ritz crackers and one batch with chocolate cookie wafers. Both are hot ticket items on my cookie platter. I would suggest that you don't use a cheap cracker, you'll pay for it later. And splurge if you can for a good chocolate and peppermint extract. Watkins is pretty good. NOTE: You can find chocolate wafer cookies on your grocery store's cookie isle, usually on the top shelf. Want to make this easy to get in and out of the chocolate? Use a fork with thin tines that will help a little of the chocolate drip off before setting to cool on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I was making these for a Christmas and finely ground candy canes in a food processor, then i added the candy canes to the melted chocolate, it was perfect, nice and minty with a little crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I enjoyed these. I was craving the mint and chocolate combo so this was quick fix. I just bit into them and let the chocolate, cracker and mint taste melt away in my mouth. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and peppermint oil because that is what I had on hand and also added a bit of butter to the melting chocolate and it got this lovely glossy look to it. Since I used peppermint oil I slowly added it in drop by drop so it would not be overpowering. Now to dip these, this may sound funny - I took a plastic fork and broke off the middle two "sprongs" and it was a perfect handler for holding the cracker and turning it in the chocolate, lifting it out and putting it on the sheet. Quick and easy and the mint taste just lingers in your mouth afterward. I like it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
these were amazing and so easy. My 3 year old helped make them and everyone loved them. We used nilla wafers instead of crackers and it was great. i will definately be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States