Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! These have become a must-have in my home. The only minor adjustment I made was to use semisweet chocolate (either bars or chips) to make it more sweet. I have always loved the famous Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies, but hated having to pay so much for them! This tastes EXACTLY like those. It takes a minute to heat the chocolate, a minute to cover the crackers, and a minute to cool. So easy for such a great recipe. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This is so yummy! I also used the melted Andes chips. So easy!!! My children loved these so much that they kept saying that I am the best cook ever. If only it was always this easy to keep them happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
These were simple to make and extremely good. I don't have to wait for my annual fix of GS thin mints- I can enjoy these at anytime. I reduced the recipe and yielded 15 vs. 20. All in all, very pleased and will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is such a good cookie! Very intersting how a cracker can turn into something so delicious. Also used 2 bags of Andes mints. Kept the chocolate melted in my chocolate dipping pot. Used tongs to flip the crackers. My 5 year old daughter made almost the whole batch after showing her how to do it so really not complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
What a cool recipe. The reviews are true - they really taste just like the Girl Scout variety. I froze mine initially and put into a cookie container the following day. They seemed to hold their shape better that way; otherwise they become very melty in your hands very quickly. I used the 2-fork method as other cooks did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! This was soooo easy to make. I melted a little Gulf Wax with a bag of Andes Mint baking pieces,Used a fork to flip the Ritz crackers in the melted mixture then from the pan to 2 wax paper lined cookie sheets. Five minutes in the fridge and you HAVE real Thin Mints just like Girl Scouts. I only got 58 cookies out of this recipe(not 80 like stated) but I can't complain...These are Wonderful and HIGHLY recommended. GREAT RECIPE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
We all loved these. When i went to the baking section to buy the bitter sweet chocolate I discovered a package of Andes baking chips. I melted these slowly in the microwave and dipped the crackers in that. Talk about easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Could NOT be easier! Kids can make this in a snap. Heck, monkeys could make this! I bought the Andes baking chips from my grocery store, melted a couple handfuls in the microwave in a creme brulee cup for about 30 seconds, then mixed it with a fork to be sure it was all melted through. I just dropped my reduced-fat Ritz crackers into the creme brulee cup with melted chocolate (perfect size cup for a Ritz) and used two forks to turn and coat the cracker. Set on paper plates (out of wax paper) and put the plates in the freezer for about two minutes. THAT'S IT FOLKS!! Clean up is a snap! My husband was AMAZED at these. He kept saying "How did you do that?" and looking around the kitchen like there must have been more pans or ingredients; like it was magic. :) In all fairness, there is a teeny tiny, very faint salt taste from the crackers if you really examine them -- but not enough to detract from the taste in any way. I will keep my eyes peeled for plain chocolate wafer cookies. Or, if you really wanted to go for broke, you could buy a bag of oreos and twist apart each cookie to use the two chocolate wafers; you'd have yourself a true thin mint then. This would work well to make mint chocolate dipped oreos, or to dip the ends of a biscotti ... the possibilities are endless. People look so stunned and confused when after biting into the cookie I hearing me say, "It's a Ritz cracker!" Really a fun recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I don't know if I would say they taste just like the girl scout cookies, but close...and much cheaper! My son loved them but my daughter took one bite and wouldn't touch it again. A bit time consuming but still very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Great recipe!! I agree with the others that these do taste like girl scout thin mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States