Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Easy, beautiful, and delicious! As suggested by other reviewers, I used Andes baking chips instead of mixing the chocolate and peppermint extract. I also used the snowflake shaped Ritz crackers that I happened to spot at the grocery store. I put some red/green/white sprinkles on to dress them up a bit. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
As my mom would say....delisioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Not bad! While not as good as Girl Scout cookies, these are a decent (and cheap!) knockoff for sure! If only I could get my cookies to look as pretty as the boxed ones (and if I could find those darn chocolate wafers everyone is talking about), I'd be able to fool a LOT of people lol! NOTE: You MUST let these sit overnight to taste anything like the "real" deal, IMHO. I ate several of these right after setting up in the freezer and wasn't impressed at all. This is definitely something you want to prepare in advance. All in all, these were super yummy and the perfect snack to serve with my St. Paddy's Day corned beef sandwiches (the green sugar crystals I decorated mine with were a nice touch). If I were to give these as gifts or display on a holiday cookie tray, my technique is in need of some SERIOUS improvement, but other than this minor mishap, I have no complaints. Thanks for sharing, Kim! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
These were so gross because of the bittersweet chocolate (which was EXPENSIVE)! I've had these before and they were so good, but they must have used regular milk chocolate. I want to try again with "good tasting" chocolate. Mad I wasted money on the bittersweet! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was hit or miss. Some loved them, others, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This has quickly become our new favorite holiday goodie. Has gotten rave reviews from recipients, as well! We sprinkled the tops of our with crushed Andes mints and/or green mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These are delicious!!! A little more time intensive than I prefer, but they're worth it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars for ingenuity, texure & flavor! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I used the suggestion of some others & simply melted Andes mints then spread it onto Ritz crackers & sprinkled crushed peppermint candy on top. I'm sure they would be even better with the thin chocolate wafer cookies but where in the world does one find them anymore? The seecondbatch I coursely choppd some York Peppermint Patty bits & sprinkled these ontop of te chocolaate - took it over the top in wonderful chocolately minty flavor! The crackers are an excellent alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
yum yum yum. my husband loves the girl scout thin mints so i had him try these with his eyes closed and i didnt tell him what they were. I wanted to see what he would say when he tasted them. And he thought they were the real thin mints, he loved them and so did my kids. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These were good, but I made some changes. After reading a ton of reviews on all different sites, I decided to experiment using ritz crackers, Vanilla wafers and Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers. I melted andes mints instead of melting chocolate and then adding peppermint extract. The andes mints were perfect. I melted them slowly in the microwave, stirring frequently. Our family conducted a taste test on the 3 different varieties, and the chocolate wafers were by far the best! Plus, they are almost black inside, just like a girl scout thin mint. It was odd biting into the rits and Nilla wafer and seeing a white color. I had never heard of these wafers but read about them in another review. I found them at Wal Mart in a long skinny yellow box with clear cellophane on top so you can see the cookies. There is only a single row of them with about 45-50 in the box. Make sure they are not broken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States