Thin Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These are great. Definitely add mint extract to the chocolate coating. Tips: try to use the highest quality chocolate for the coating (like Ghirardelli). It makes a difference! If you use cheaper chocolate, you'll have to add water to thin it out for melting. Also, I find the best way to coat the cookies is to dip them in the saucepan of melted chocolate using chopsticks. Flip it over a few times, then set on a plate. After a couple of hours you'll be able to remove them from the plate (with a firm nudge). I also found that I used over twice as much chocolate for the coating than the recipe called for. I guess I just coated mine extra thick, which I thought worked well! Others are right - no need to add butter to the coating and skip the 1/4 cup of flour. These are great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Recipee was easy to follow.. However I did not roll into the logs or chill/freeze as listed in the original recipee. Instead, I kneaded the dough after mixing and rolled it out and did cutouts instead. I did place them in the refrigerator for about forty minutes prior to baking. I also used three tablespoons of the flavoring because I like my flavors to be bold.Instead of the semi sweet chips, I dipped the cookies in Ghiradelli milk chocolate. Excellent recipee. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
You will get much better results using Crisco instead of butter in the chocolate coating mixture. And 1/4 c. is way too much for only 3 oz of chocolate, that's why the coating won't harden at room temp. Normally one would use 2 T. Crisco to a 12 oz bag of semisweet chocolate chips for melting purposes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe! But you have to follow some "rules" to get great results. First, make sure you are using either real butter or baking margarine. Lite margarine will NOT work with this recipe. Even regular margarine will not work well. It must be a margarine that is sold as baking margarine. Second, the butter/baking margarine should be just soft enough to beat until creamy without seeing lumps (too cold yet) or without getting soupy or runny (too warm). And third, don't cut any larger than 1/4 inch. Keep them pretty thin and you will get a crisp cookie, not a chewy one. Beyond that, play around with the amount of mint to satisfy YOU. Some like more, some like less, that is personal preference and not a reflection of the recipe. Make them as written the first time, then adjust ingredient amounts to suit your tastes the next time. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
using all organic ingredients for a healthier version...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Turned out hard after cooling. Recipe not accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
great cookies. try omitting the butter from the coating because butter melts at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
pretty yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My son's wife threatened to beat me up when I took the few left over home. Only thing I changed, I did not add the butter to the semisweet chocolate for the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great cookies! My family (chocoholics) found they tasted even better with a chocolate coating on the outside. All I did was melt some chocolate over a double broiler and then dipped each cookie into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justinm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States