Thin Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great recipe! Taste like girl scout thin mints! I didn't add the butter in the second part of the recipe, just melt the chocolate to dip the cookies in. I suggest doubling or even tripling the amount of chocolate you use to dip the cookies in so that they have a layer of chocolate around them all the way. I also used more pure mint extract then in the recipe. also remove them from pans while still warm otherwise they will stick and crumble when you take them off the pans. Other then that that great recipe and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
The mint is a little too overpowering, so I'd cut back on that. However, if you double the chocolate you used for drizzling, you can coat the cookies, and everything tastes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made adjustments to this recipe and to me they taste JUST like girl scout cookies. I added 3 times the mint, used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 butter (to make them a little more healthy), and I added 1/2 tsp baking soda (to counter act the "taste like rocks" comments many people left.) I only cooked them until they were stiff (not hard), I found they would harden up outside of the oven. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, butter, and added mint to the chocolate as well. I just kind of spread the chocolate over the cookies. I had to use a LOT of butter to get the chocolate runny enough to do anything with (maybe because of the mint I added?) They won't harden, but I would keep them in the freezer anyway. Mine didn't turn our pretty, but oh do they taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Tried this today and I loved it!!! For my chocolate coating I just used microwaveable melting chocolate. The brand I used was Guittard. I added a little but of peppermint extract to the chocolate coating. These came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knit chic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Amazing. I couldn't stop snacking on them. Perfect amount of mint. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Inedibly bad. First off, they need to be thinner (I made them varying thickness, but I'd say go with about 1/8 inch). Secondly, they need to be crisper. They were doughy like a brownie. So cook them longer (or don't use this recipe). And thirdly, the mint taste wasn't right. I used mint extract, btw, not peppermint, as some reviewers suggested. The chocolate coating didn't save them at all. I tried some totally covered in chocolate and some with chocolate drizzle. The problem was the cookie to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kketnick
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I was a little worried after reading all the reviews that these would be too minty, not minty enough, chewy or crumbly...but I followed the recipe almost exactly and they came out perfect! I sliced mine to 1/4" and they were delicious, not as crunchy as the girls scout cookies but that didn't take away from them at all. I left them in for the maximum time listed in order to try and get them crisp. I refrigerated overnight so I didn't bother freezing before baking. For the chocolate coating, I bought the Wilton melting candies from a craft store in dark cocoa mint and they tasted exactly like thin mints. They were a hit at the cookie exchange and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kketnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Such a Treat! They were delicious and just the right texture. The directions said drizzle the chocolate. I ended up dipping the cookies in the chocolate to get them totally covered and they turned out great. (I ended up using two times the required chocolate/butter miX) I added some mint extract to the melted chocolate (barely 1/4 teaspoon) and it enhanced the mint flavor. So yummy-thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A little more work than a traditional cookie recipe, but SO worth it. Store in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
-1/4 cup flour, and using 1 tbsp butter in chocolate its pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States