Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was very good but I admit I changed it up quite a bit. I used thyme instead of italian seasoning, olive oil instead of butter, chicken stock instead of bouillon, and brown rice instead of white, and added peas and carrots to the rice. I also used two cups of rice to five cups of half stock half water (brown rice calls for more water). It took quite a while to cook, about 1.5 hours. and I parboiled the rice first. As suggested by another reviewer, I turned the chicken over halfway through to keep it from drying out. At the very end, I put it under the broiler for 5-6 minutes to crisp up the skin. There was still water when I took it out, but it quickly soaked into the rice after I took it out. The end result was delicious, and the rice had an almost risotto-like texture. My only complaint is that it was pretty greasy. I would definitely not used a 1/4 cup of butter as is suggested. Next time I'd like to try skinless thighs to help keep the grease-factor down. Overall, I think I have a new one-pot dish to add to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My boyfriend loved this recipe! Said he could eat it everyday! I also made a few changes - added garlic and chopped spinach to the rice mixture for one. And two - Instead of chicken bouillon cube I just used 2 cups of chicken broth in place of the water. Lots of seasoning on the chicken and let it bake for 45-50min and it was so so so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Good flavor, next time I will cook uncovered at first and then cover for the remainder. Also, needed to cook longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This recipe works, but could use more seasoning. I also doubled the amount of rice because 1 cup of rice didn't seem like enough for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is a simple starter recipe that you can customize easily! I used brown rice, olive oil instead of the white rice and butter, added a cup and a half of sliced mushrooms, and added a tsp of curry powder, smoked paprika and onion powder. The brown rice takes longer... give it about 1.5 hours. At an hour, we turned the chicken to make sure it didn't dry out, and that really ensured a juicy chicken. Fall apart tender! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
very good...and easy mean we'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I love this recipe, my husband and I make it all the time. I actually memorized it. It's a good hearty quick meal. I use Jasmine rice, but really it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was fabulous and a hit with my husband, toddler and baby. I only used 1 cube of bouillon, 2 tbs of butter and brown rice. Had to bake for 1 hr 15 minutes, covered the last 15 minutes. I used basil, garlic, onion powder, oregeno, thyme and adobo seasoning. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A favorite recipe - pretty easy to put together, and you can't get much more economical than chix thighs and white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
nice simple quick meal. can't eat it 2 nights in a row because it's a little boring compared to my other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States