Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I like this recipe but it needs more seasoning. I've made it twice so far and finally figured out the right ratios. If you use white rice, reduce the amount of liquid by the amount of butter you use. White rice needs 2:1 ratio and that extra 1/4 c butter makes a difference in absorption. For brown rice, use 2 1/4 c stock. I prepared mine by sautéing the onions and a small can of mushrooms until translucent, about 3 minutes, then added the rice, garlic powder, salt and my favorite poultry seasoning. Added the rice and cooked it all another minute or two. I then added 1 3/4 c chicken stock, stirred it all together and tasted. Adjust your seasoning here by adding more salt, garlic powder or other seasoning of your choice. Pour everything into your casserole dish, add the chicken on top, season the top of the chicken and bake 45 min. Uncovered. If necessary, cover and cook another 10-15 minutes. You'll only need to do this if you added too much liquid or if the chicken isn't cooked through. This recipe is a keeper and sooo easy to make! Next time, I may add some thawed frozen veggies, or perhaps corn, or peas, or.. well, the best thing about this recipe is it's so easy to change up. Hmmm, maybe curry, or saffron, or curry and saffron. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
we enjoyed this recipe very much, tonight is my 3rd time making it, and as many of the others stated, I also added our own touches to it. I diced up carrots, and minced fresh mushrooms. I also added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup instead of butter I used minced garlic in olive oil. My kids love it and my husband who is a super picky eater actually requests this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faerymage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Quick, easy and delish...my hubby calls this a "treat" everytime i make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was delicious, however my rice was not cooked enough. Could be because the chicken thighs were small and were done in 35 mins. Next time I will partial cook my rice first. I didn't have bouillon so I used chicken broth. I seasoned the thighs with garlic powder, oregano and thyme and I left out the italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Quick and easy!! I seasoned my chicken with Badilla all purpose seasoning instead of the Italian dressing and left in fridge for about 5 hours. I increased my servings to 8 and it called for 2 3/4 cubes of broth but I only used 2 cubes. Glad I didn't increase it as it would have been too salty. I don't ever use salt so even the 2 cubes was almost a little salty for my tastes but my friends thought it was perfect. They really liked it & I was so happy as it was my first time making it!! I definitely will make this again and again and most likely will use 1 cub of broth but surely no more than 2. This will be one of my go to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zyxwv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
made this for dinner last. I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I used lemon pepper and garlic powder. loved it. Very easy too. my kind of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My husband wants this meal again. I sauteed onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Along with spices and a couple dashes of hot sauce, I tossed in a can of diced tomatoes and enough water to measure 2-1/4 cups. Used extra b/s thighs (9 althogether), which really filled up the dish. Took quite a bit longer to cook, but it was a great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was so yummy!!! I never give less stars just because I added to it or made it my own,So this is totally a 5!! I did read the reviews and put more water. I also brown my chicken ..sliced mushrooms And It was amazing!My husband asked what the dish was called so he could request it for dinner!LOL! TO EVERYONE WHO GIVES A RECIPE LESS STARS BECAUSE THEY ADDED TO IT OR FOLLOWED ADVICE FROM A REVIEW..THE RECIPE IS PUT UP TO THE COOKS LIKING SHE/HE MAKES IT LIKE THEY LIKE IT! ITS OUR JOB TO READ THE REVIEWS AND ADD SOMETHING TO IT!!!!MAYBE YOU LIKE TO SEASON THE HECK OUT OF THINGS(LIKE ME) MAYBE YOU HATE ALOT OF SEASONING.THE COOK THAT PUTS THE RECIPE UP ONLY GIVES US AN IDEA..SO PUT SOME EFFORT IN TO IT GUYS AND DONT EXPECT THE COOK TO MAKE IT JUST THE WAY YOU AND YOUR FAMILY LIKES!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal O'Connell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I forgot to read reviews prior to cooking. More seasoning and less butter were needed. Vegetables would be a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abh91c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States