Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very good chicken recipe. Did as another reviewer did and cooked it on the BBQ wrapped in foil, to hot to cook inside. I used chicken broth in place of the water(personal preference )and i used very low sodium soy sauce. I also took them out of the liquid and put them on the grill just to get grill marks. The chicken turns out nice and juicy.This is a keeper, thank you moaa for this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I took the suggestions from other reviews and it turned out great! I switched it up a little, though...I added 1/2 cup of white wine, decreased butter, eliminated the bouillon all together, added minced fresh garlic, and used a parsley, sage, rosemary, & thyme rub on the chicken before placing in the pan! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I've used this recipe several times now. I like it and my wife likes it also which is surprising because she normally will not eat rice. The first time I tried it, I had to increase the cooking time from 45 minutes to an hour to get the chicken cooked. I think it is because of our altitude of 5000 feet above sea level. For seasoning I add a chopped/minced up a clove of garlic to the mix and than sprinkle a teaspoon of pepper, a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of smoked perika on top with 6 sprigs of fresh rosemary right before I put it in the oven. I also skin the thighs like some others do. I melted the butter prior to mixing it in. The rice comes out very tasty and the chicken is moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I just have one complaint: the recipe itself wasn't too clear. I felt like I was making things up as I went along (not necessarily a bad thing in and of itself, but when you're in a hurry, you don't have time to second guess yourself or try to figure things out on your own that should be well-recorded for you). For example: do you dissolve the bullion separately? If so, at what point do you add it back to the rice mixture? It's not clear. I think it would be helpful if this was corrected. Other than that, the recipe was great! The meat was tender and juicy, and the butter & bullion with the rice was amazing! Can't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
5 stars with these changes... Here are some Cooking 101 tips. Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a dutch oven over medium high heat. Season chicken (thighs OR drumsticks) with S&P and brown for 4-5 minutes per side. Remove from pot. Saute the onion (and celery, carrots, mushrooms) for 2-3 minutes in the same pot. Then add rice, broth, melted butter, and Italian seasoning (only 1/2 tsp.) and stir together. Put browned chicken on top of rice and cover with a tight fitting lid. Bake for 35-45 minutes. Cooks perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I was hard on time and my daughter was having a sleepover so it was quick and easy. I did use chicken breast one time when I didn't have any chicken thighs on hand. For me I made it Spicer. I added one teaspoon of cayenne pepper and curry powder. I also added some garlic like two cloves. Sometimes I add cream of mushroom soup and sometimes I use beef bouillon instead of the chicken one. I also use canned or fresh veggies when they need some veggies. All in all an great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Good recipe. We substituted butter for olive oil and used boneless skinless thighs. Then we mixed the oil and rice in the dish, sprinkling onions on top to bake at 450 for 15 minutes. We then followed the recipe adding a splash of tomatoes sauce to the liquid mixture. We give it four stars for easiness and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great base recipe. Used 4 skin on chicken thighs, and 2 cups of rice in a 9x13. Mixed chopped garlic, onion, can of cream of chicken, 1 cup of chicken stock, and Mrs. Dash. Before pouring it over the rice and chicken I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, paprika, and some Goya Adobo. Covered it and threw it in the oven for 45 mins. Came out great! Will definitely make again, but experiment with different veggies, and/or seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I'd suggest adding garlic, basil, and parsley. Brown the thighs first and increase cook time by 10 mins. Also, try cutting the butter; it comes out a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is a delicious, quick, one-pan meal. I used saffron rice, which I really think made all the difference. I also added chopped garlic to the rice mixture. Seriously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States