Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Good recipe. We substituted butter for olive oil and used boneless skinless thighs. Then we mixed the oil and rice in the dish, sprinkling onions on top to bake at 450 for 15 minutes. We then followed the recipe adding a splash of tomatoes sauce to the liquid mixture. We give it four stars for easiness and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great base recipe. Used 4 skin on chicken thighs, and 2 cups of rice in a 9x13. Mixed chopped garlic, onion, can of cream of chicken, 1 cup of chicken stock, and Mrs. Dash. Before pouring it over the rice and chicken I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, paprika, and some Goya Adobo. Covered it and threw it in the oven for 45 mins. Came out great! Will definitely make again, but experiment with different veggies, and/or seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I'd suggest adding garlic, basil, and parsley. Brown the thighs first and increase cook time by 10 mins. Also, try cutting the butter; it comes out a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is a delicious, quick, one-pan meal. I used saffron rice, which I really think made all the difference. I also added chopped garlic to the rice mixture. Seriously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
SO easy and I cooked it in my mini convection oven. Made some adjustments...used 6 small frozen boneless, skinless thighs. Par boiled in chicken bouillon until no longer pink then used 1 cup of boiled broth to melt second bouillon. Mixed 1 cup boiled chicken water and 1 cup bouillon with basmati rice. Used half of the butter and approx 1 tbsp olive oil in the rice mixture. Added minced onion, garlic powder and a small amount of cayenne pepper. Mixed in one can of corn, drained. Topped with salt, pepper and italian seasoning. Baked 350 in mini convection oven in a 8x8 dish. Stirred rice every 10 minutes or so. Cooked 45 minutes and was perfect!! Loved that I had all ingredients on hand, very quick easy and budget friendly! Was extremely flavorful. My husband raved over it! Asked me to make it once a week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was ok. The grease from the chicken really soaked into the rice though. Wasn't really fan of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I like this recipe but it needs more seasoning. I've made it twice so far and finally figured out the right ratios. If you use white rice, reduce the amount of liquid by the amount of butter you use. White rice needs 2:1 ratio and that extra 1/4 c butter makes a difference in absorption. For brown rice, use 2 1/4 c stock. I prepared mine by sautéing the onions and a small can of mushrooms until translucent, about 3 minutes, then added the rice, garlic powder, salt and my favorite poultry seasoning. Added the rice and cooked it all another minute or two. I then added 1 3/4 c chicken stock, stirred it all together and tasted. Adjust your seasoning here by adding more salt, garlic powder or other seasoning of your choice. Pour everything into your casserole dish, add the chicken on top, season the top of the chicken and bake 45 min. Uncovered. If necessary, cover and cook another 10-15 minutes. You'll only need to do this if you added too much liquid or if the chicken isn't cooked through. This recipe is a keeper and sooo easy to make! Next time, I may add some thawed frozen veggies, or perhaps corn, or peas, or.. well, the best thing about this recipe is it's so easy to change up. Hmmm, maybe curry, or saffron, or curry and saffron. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
we enjoyed this recipe very much, tonight is my 3rd time making it, and as many of the others stated, I also added our own touches to it. I diced up carrots, and minced fresh mushrooms. I also added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup instead of butter I used minced garlic in olive oil. My kids love it and my husband who is a super picky eater actually requests this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faerymage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Quick, easy and delish...my hubby calls this a "treat" everytime i make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was delicious, however my rice was not cooked enough. Could be because the chicken thighs were small and were done in 35 mins. Next time I will partial cook my rice first. I didn't have bouillon so I used chicken broth. I seasoned the thighs with garlic powder, oregano and thyme and I left out the italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States